Quinoa Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This is SOOOOO good! For health reasons, I have to eat tons of protien every day, and I get sick of stuffing my face with meat all day. This was a very refreshing breakfast, very tasty and different! It's in the 80s here already but this winter, this will be a staple! Next time I'll use less liquid, I like my porridge thick enough to stand a spoon up in it. I added chopped walnuts and dried fruit and a little extra cinnamon. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I made this for my family, as I'm a big "You are what you eat" fan, and this is one of the ingredients suggested by Gillian. I was surprised that such a healthy ingredient tasted good. I won't be a fan of quinoa over night, but this definitely opened my mind to using quinoa in some other recipes. When I followed the direction, I found that the quinoa was still a bit crunchy after it was prepared. I don't know if this is common or not, but the next time I make it, I think I will cook it a bit longer. Also, if you are feeding other people with this recipe, it comes out closer to two and a half (very filling) servings. I would suggest that you make this in conjunction with blueberry muffins as the combination of flavors was delicious. Thanks for submitting the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I followed this recipe to the letter, but at 25min, my quinoa was still quite crunchy. I bumped the heat up to medium low. After over an hour, I gave up, doused my serving with brown sugar, and managed to eat half of it before dumping the rest down the drain. Ah well. I'm afraid I won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
this was really really good. it had the perfect amount of sweetness. it had a tiny bit of a crunch, but it wasnt really crunchy like it sounded like everyone else's was. i cooked it longer than 25 minutes only because i wanted it to be thicker. i cooked it at a very low simmer for 25 minutes, and the texture was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was my first experience with quinoa, and quite positive. I think this recipe is delicious, though does need to be cooked longer. I used 1% milk instead of almond-- watch out for the milk protein scum, which needs to be skimmed off. I'd make this again, but I'm going to keep looking for a breakfast quinoa recipe that'll fit into my morning schedule during the school year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
OK- I made this porridge this morning with a few revisions. I added one chopped apple, a handful or raisins, and some baking sweetener to 1C of the quinoa. I used one of those waterless cooker pans from the 70s so the porridge cooked in 30 minutes but it required nearly double the fluid. I used one Cup of skim milk and all the rest in water. If I had cider in the house I would have used that. The end result is tasty. I am trying to add more whole grains to our diets. My husband will eat quinoa with a tomato creole type addition but he isn't thrilled. The porridge is for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I followed the instructions as directed, but used red quinoa, raw milk and raw honey instead of the plain quinoa, almond milk and brown sugar. Becuae I used a darker quinoa it was difficult to tell when it was toasted. To me it tasted slightly burnt but having never had quinoa before I don't know if that was its natural taste. My main problem is it would not break down and thicken. I cooked it for an hour, the milk boiled right down and the grains became tender but the texture was still seeds floating in milk. After an hour I tried getting creative, boiling it again, microwaving it, squashing it with a spoon and yelling at it. After an hour and a half I gave up and ate as is. It was very tasty but never got to the consistency of porridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was a delicious and very healthy breakfast! I used regular cows milk, because I didn't have almond. I also used organic raw brown sugar (sucanat) instead of regular. I cut it down to one serving size; it wasn't really enough, though! Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. It's a great way to start the day. I am an oatmeal fan and find this cereal to be lighter than oatmeal yet just as filling. I add cinnamon, nutmeg, craisens, and vanilla, and cook it in soy milk. Once cooked, I add a scoop of ground flaxseed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I love quinoa but had never considered using it in a sweet breakfast dish before seeing this recipe! As noted in some other reviews this does take forevvver to cook which sucked because my guest and I were super hungry, but with the addition of some cinnamon cereal and blueberry jam, it was worth the wait. Really delicious, filling, and satisfying! My only suggestion would be to cook it at a higher temperature for a shorter amount of time BUT be sure to continue stirring it the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States