Quinoa Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by smilelovely
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
It's pretty good. I took the advice of another poster and used 1/2 c water and 1/2 c milk (used vanilla almond milk). No sugar added since I haven't got any and I was making this in my dorm. The quinoa cooked well but was nothing like porridge afterward. I mixed it with blackberries to get some sweetness in and added a tiny bit more milk to it for another bit of sweetness. I'll probably make this again and try using a bit more liquid from the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was good but not out of this world. I used regular milk as I only had that, and decreased it to about 1/2 c as others suggested. It didn't need the full 25 min, but it probably took about 20. I omited the salt as well. This only made 2 portions, and that is coming from a light eater. I will make it again but I think I want to play around with it to make it REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Maybe it's just quinoa I don't like but I couldn't get this stuff to taste good. Too sweet, too bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
My daughter made this for my b-day breakfast and I thought it was wonderful. We used soymilk but otherwise followed the recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Made in a ricecooker, with slightly less liquid (only 1 1/2 cups total). Used soy milk instead of almond milk, and 1 1/2 tbsps agave nectar instead of the brown sugar. Turned out perfect. Exactly like the porridge served on the Inca Trail in Peru. Great alternative to porridge oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Very excellent! This is my 2nd time cooking with Quinoa and I really liked this! I added a lot more cinnamon, used cows milk, and did not add as much water. I also added raisins and it tasted fabulous. I think I've found an alternative to salty breakfast sandwiches on Sunday morning before church!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This recipe has way too much liquid, maybe that's why several people thought theirs wasn't cooked in the time specified. If you're expecting this recipe to soak up all the liquid like oatmeal does, you'll be disappointed. The quinoa I bought (Costco) is pre-rinsed, and the cooking instructions on it are to use 1 part quinoa to 2 parts liquid, brown it in butter or oil, then add liquid, bring to boil, reduce heat and simmer for 15 min. I have substituted several different liquids, and it always turns out perfect and fluffy like rice. So, I still gave this 3 stars, because after I altered the liquid amounts to 1/2 c water and 1/2 c almond milk, it did turn out quite nice. I like it with chopped almonds and dried cranberries mixed in at the end for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was REALLY good! I used plain unsweetened soy milk because I ran out of almond milk and my kids ate every last bite. Next time I will use almond milk to see which I like better. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Loved this! The only change I made was to use regular milk. It was such a nice change for breakfast. Next time I will add raisins or craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is a great way to get protein in the morning because it's disguised as carbs! I noticed that some people had trouble with this recipe and I think it helps immensely to COVER the saucepan. I always put a lid on when I'm cooking quinoa, so that's what I did with this recipe. The quinoa was done after about 20 minutes, I then uncovered it and let the extra liquid cook off until I had my desired consistency. Came out perfect! I recently switched to (unsweetened) almond milk so I was excited to see a recipe that called for it. Loved the cinnamon and vanilla. I added some raisins and craisins and sprinkled some extra brown sugar on top. Yum! ****Update: I now make this with only 1 cup of milk and no water. Cover and simmer, and it only takes about 10-15 min. to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States