Quinoa Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was very tasty! I have just been introduced to quinoa, and this is my first breakfast use of it. It has just the right amount of sweetness and is quite filling. I made it with regular milk, since that's what i had, but i added some almond extract. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This recipe was fantastic with just a few minor adjustments; first of all, I used unsweetened chocolate almond milk since that's what I had on hand and it was delicious! Also, I didn't bother with water and used almond milk as my liquid exclusively, sticking to the quinoa package's recommended 2:1 ratio of liquid to grain instead of what's written here and it was absolutely perfect. This is a great, delicious, healthy breakfast if you have the time to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Does anyone know if you can make this the night before and re-heat in the morning? I don't have that much time in the morning to make this, but would love get started on my bag of quinoa I have had in my pantry for so long and been too scared to cook with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I prepared this the way LUV2COOK recommended and it came out perfect. I've never cooked Quinoa before and I love the nutty flavor and slightly crunchy texture of it. I used maple syrup to sweeten it and added a little nutmeg then mixed in some banana. I've also added apple pie spice or pumpkin pie spice to my cereal before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was really good and an interesting new way to use quinoa but some changes were needed in the cooking method. I did not add the water and just used 1.5 cups soy milk since that seemed like way too much liquid from my previous experiences with quinoa (figured I could add the water later if it was needed- it wasn't). I also covered the pan while it was simmering to help with water absorption. After the quinoa was cooked through I took off the lid and simmered until it reached the consistency I wanted. I topped with a bit more brown sugar and some walnuts. This made a delicious breakfast for two (it was not three servings for us) and I think we both could have eaten a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This was great! What a great change for breakfast! Made exactly as stated except for I added a tad less water. Thanks! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
First dish I have made using Quinoa and it turned out great! I added a little more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
very tasty. much better than oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I thought this was a terrific quinoa recipe. I bought a large bag at Costco's so I'm always looking for ways to use it. I made it just as written except for using skim milk and it came out fine. I split it into 3 1/2-cup servings to reheat during the week. I will try adding the raisins, craisins and/or nuts when I have it next. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is really a delicious healthy recipe! It takes a few minutes to do but is well worth it! You can just let it cook as you do other things around and occassionally check on it and stir it. I do it with a little maple syrup in place of the brown sugar. I've also started adding some nuts on top that I've roasted in my oven for 7-8 min. on 350. It's really good and satisfying knowing that it's also healthy and high protein. It's a staple breakfast recipe for me now! Thanks for shareing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States