Quinoa Porridge with Cinnamon Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Awesome! Made a breakfast for my mom, and she said "this is the best breakfast I have ever had!" Hyperbole? Maybe. But try it for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Outrageous! I really didn't measure anything. Did everything by eye and added raisins. Used evaporated milk instead of half and half. Now I can enjoy dessert and not feel guilty about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Love, love, love this recipe. have made it several times and each time is better than the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suncat1
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I was excited to try this... found it easy to prepare and mouth-watering. We used Pink Lady apples and whole, raw almonds (what we had on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I love quinoa but using red quinoa gave it too overpowering of a taste. I would use regular quinoa if I were to try this again. I love all the other ingredients in this recipe but I don't know what happened. I did make it in the slowcooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I give it four stars as is, because I found it to be quite bland, and also overly salty. The amount of salt called for was way too much for this recipe, so I would decrease it by half next time. I also added twice as much syrup, and about 3T brown sugar at the end to give it more flavor and to mask the salt. It ended up tasting great, but next time I make it I hope to be able to use less sugar and keep it healthier by decreasing the salt. Oh, and I also didn't have red quinoa so I used the traditional brown and it turned out just fine. My picky husband even liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Meier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is pretty good. I doubled the apple, used honey instead of maple syrup, and unsweetened coconut milk instead of almond milk. It could have used a little bit more sweetener, but not much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
What a great treat from the typical Sunday pancakes! Rather than buy almond milk just for this recipe, I poured a little vanilla into 1% milk. Used two apples and increased the cinnamon. That made it plenty sweet enough. It was a little soupy (possibly not enough Quinoa as I was low). Next time I will cut back on the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Really good. I cooked the apple with the quinoa, added a touch of brown sugar, and only a bit of fat free half and half prior to serving. It has a great texture and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Tasty, but frying the apples in butter kind of defeats the health benefits of quinoa. I just add the apples and cinnamon to the quinoa and cook it all together. I sweeten with stevia, but you can certainly use the maple syrup for flavor and sweetness. I also add one-quarter cup walnuts for some healty fat, but that's a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States