Quinoa Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
This recipe was very very good. I recommend lots of onions, carrots, celery, and peas. Use a large dice for the onions, carrots, and celery. I used chicken broth instead of water and it was absolutely delicious. It was extremely quick and easy as well. This recipe is great for you and it tastes good too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Substitued veg. broth for the water- used edamame (vegetable soybeans) instead of peas, bell pepper instead of celery. Came out pretty tasty. Definitly packed with protein due to quinoa and edamame!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
This recipe was alright, but wound up being somewhat disappointing. The end result was kind of sweet tasting and all of the vegetables were very mushy. I will look for a different recipe using quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
This recipe is great. My kids think that it is rice and ask me to make the "good rice". I actually took it to a cottage this summer and all of the kids loved it! The lemon juice and the bay leaf are the secret ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This was pretty good. I didn't have celery or a lemon so just used lemon juice. It was acceptable that night and VERY good the next day. My husband said he would eat it again. Nice change of pace from potatoes or rice--and healthier too! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
The only thing I changed was all of the lemon flavors. I added no lemon anything. Even DH & DS liked this one! Ha Ha they ate something healthy and enjoyed it...shhh don't tell them, lol. After posting I remembered that I had some leftover and the next day I stuffed the Quinoa Pilaf into blanched , green bell peppers, topped with tomato paste and baked like stuffed peppers. That was even better than the pilaf alone...and....healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKOFDEATH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Great Recipe as written. Quinoa is a new 'discovery' for me, so it is nice to get some different ideas for using it. Love the lemony flavor dimension. When I made it a second time I added a bouillion cube (chicken flav) to the water, and added fresh mushrooms to the sauteed mixture (just eyeball the amount). Came out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was great and easy to make. Went very well for lunch with a leftover chicken breast. Thanks for sharing Laura.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Simple and unremarkable. Basically like rice and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
I can only give this 4 stars....although I loved it, my husband was less than thrilled....I'll make it again....I used vegetable broth for the water and left out the lemon zest (didn't have any)...This was delicious and easy to make...I love the nutty taste of the quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States