Quinoa Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Great Recipe as written. Quinoa is a new 'discovery' for me, so it is nice to get some different ideas for using it. Love the lemony flavor dimension. When I made it a second time I added a bouillion cube (chicken flav) to the water, and added fresh mushrooms to the sauteed mixture (just eyeball the amount). Came out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I'm giving this one five stars. The fact that one of my kids hated it had nothing to do with the quality of the recipe and everything to do with the fact that he rejects all things new. The other child loved it and cleaned her plate! I can see myself making variations of this recipe from time to time, with different veggies or types of quinoa. The recipe is excellent as is, but also has great potential for modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Quinoa is not only really, really, good for you; it's really, really good! This is an easy, delicious recipe that I will use again. The hardest part is chopping up the veggies. Took it to a pot luck and it was a hit. Thanks, Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I am new to the whole grain scene. This recipe is quite a nice change from the potato/rice rut I fell into. Next time I might use a little less carrot but overall, the dish was very good. I did however use an organic no-chicken stock in lieu of water. That with the fresh lemon, gave it good flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Excellent! Did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This was great! I made it just like the recipe and loved it. A very good way to use quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was my first time trying Quinoa (cooking it or eating it) and this recipe is just fabulous. I didn't rinse the quinoa before toasting it, and it came out tasting great. It got the thumbs up from both my boyfriend and myself. I will definitely be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This is a very subtle dish, and relatively easy to make. I had trouble finding a strainer that was fine enough to strain quinoa. The lemon zest made a great addition to the taste. Highly suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Didn't blow me away. Used Chicken Stock instead of water and maybe that's what did it. Was a good side dish though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Good quinoa recipes (to be served hot)are REALLY hard to find. This is one of the best and easiest to make. A delicious new side choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tirtza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States