Quinoa Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
For the quinoa, I did change it a bit. I used chicken broth instead of water. I added a pinch of minced garlic to the boiling process along with the bay leaves. I didn't have frozen peas so I used frozen peas and carrots, omitting the fresh carrot. I did not add the onion and celery while it boiled. Instead in a separate skillet, I sauted them till softened and mixed them in toward the end of the cooking process. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Too much lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was great and easy to make. Went very well for lunch with a leftover chicken breast. Thanks for sharing Laura.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
An easy and nutritious side dish and a great alternative to rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I was a little worried when I saw how 'easy' it was suppose to be. I've tried 'easy' recipes, and something usually ends up burnt, tasteless, or a horrible combination of both. This, however, is phenomenally easy to make! Not the 'easy' that you have to have years of cooking experience to acquire, but easy for someone who is horrible at cooking to do! It's simple, fast, doesn't take a whole lot of thinking to do, and it tastes so good! Definitely a usual for me now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macayla

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These are the types of dishes I like to make and keep on hand for side dishes. I got a little carried away with the lemon... but that's not the recipe's fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Unattractive and bland. The veggies get overcooked while waiting for the quinoa to become tender. But it made a good base for a quick chicken curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
You can do a lot with this and alter as your pantry requires. I didn't have celery but did add some red bell pepper. Also, didn't have bay but used oregano. Forgot the lemon. But it was still quite good! I was surprised when hubby went back for seconds! We've never had quinoa before and he's not an adventerous eater. Thanks, Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Great recipe! I've made twice and the 1st time I followed the recipe exactly and used as a side dish...the 2nd time I added some small diced ham (could use reconstituted TVP ham if you like, I'm sure it would still work find) and used it as a main dish...LOVED it both times (as did my picky, picky children) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQsBread

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PaulaG
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This is a delicious side that went very well with chicken and caramelized pearl onions. I might try cooking it in vegetable stock next time for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States