Quinoa Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Loved this when I used zucchini instead of peas, cilantro instead of a bay leaf, and cooked the quinoa in 1/2 spicy V8 and 1/2 chicken broth! Definitely large chop veggies and I cooked them in coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Made this recipe scaled to 4 servings. Used other reviewer's tip and added a chicken bouillon cube with the water. Also, only used lemon juice because I couldn't find my citrus zester and I was in a rush to get dinner made. I had cooked the quinoa for 17 min., but it was still undercooked, so I added about 2/3 c. water and cooked it for another 8 min. until done. The flavor was very good, and the only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars was over the water issue. This would make a good "1st-Timer" dish for anyone new to quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
My first experience cooking quinoa. I rinsed well and dry-toasted it. Threw in whatever veggies I had around, sauteed, and used chicken broth for the liquid. Next time I will use slightly less cooking liquid, as it was a bit wet for my taste. Very delicious; will be making quinoa regularly from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I was cooking pork in the crockpot, so I used the pork dripping in place of the water. I omitted the peas ecause we don't care for them. It was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I love this recipe but I like to add a couple teaspoons of indian spices such as curry and cumin. It really adds a lot of flavor. I find the recipe a bit bland without spices. You can also add basil and savory spices like sage and a bit of rosemary if you don't care for indian spices. With spices, I give this a 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I liked this sooooooo much. I want to make it every day. Go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Excellent recipe that also tastes good the next day! Like another reviewer, I used g. pepper since I was out of celery. I also threw a handful of toasted sunflower seeds on top before serving. This is really a wonderful recipe as-is, but is also great for adding your own unique twists. Next time, I might add a handful of chopped walnuts and/or some dried fruit -- cranberries, currents or diced apricots. I agree that the lemon juice and zest add a subtle something that is just-right. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Fantastic! Left out the onion and used chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was pretty good. I need to remember next time to chop the vegetables up finer. Did not add the lemon, but will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
used chicken stock in place of water and it was wonerful. very refreshing!!! the hubby thought it was too lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jelliott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States