Quinoa Pilaf with Shredded Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Exceptional for Quinoa! I'm not a huge fan of quinoa, but I like making it because it's extremely healthy for you. But, this is very tasty and my kids liked it too. I didn't use it as my main dish and I had to make a few changes. I didn't have any fresh celery so I used celery flakes. And I didn't have any Italian seasoning so I used Poultry seasoning. It was very good. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dpierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
The flavors just weren't right for me. Sorry. The coconut oil is an odd addition, and I didn't care for it in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Yum! Make sure you rinse the quinoa before you cook it. I sauteed the veggies for 3 1/2 minutes, instead of 7. I didn't want them too over cooked. I didn't use sage, and I'm glad I didn't. Use some chicken thighs with this, it really makes a tastier dish. I cooked the chicken in veggie stock, saved the remaining liquid after they were done, and drizzled it into the pilaf with the chicken for the last step. It helped incorporate the chicken flavor through out, instead of just pilaf with some chicken stirred in. I did reduce it to 2 carrots instead of 3, and didn't notice a carrot shortage at all. I find that an initial rinse of quinoa in a pour spout measuring cup, then pouring it into a cheese cloth, making like a tennis ball shape with it, works fantasticly. Then I can strain it and squeeze it right under the water, it's very quick and effective. (I don't have a mesh screen) Just add a little more quinoa, to make up for what gets stuck in the cloth. Next time I'm going to add some curry, or maybe some coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzie
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
YUMMY!! I added poultry season to the boneless skinless chicken breast I used, diced and added corn, peas and carrots to it too. VERY GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is good, though next time I'd add a bit more celery and stick with 3 carrots (2 wasn't enough for me). I didn't taste the coconut oil at all as one of the reviewers did- I did add a bit of soy sauce for added flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Union Gap, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Thank you! I am a vegetarian and my husband does not believe a meal is complete without meat. This was a great recipe for us. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. Then, when the recipe called for meat, I split the dish in two - adding turkey to his portion and edamame to mine. Everyone was satisfied. Even my son who is just starting with table food liked this. : ) One other note - I did not have coconut oil so I used a citrus flavored olive oil - still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Yum! This recipe was a real winner! I made it with olive oil instead of coconut, added sliced garlic, had only two carrots and omitted the chicken. It was hearty and flavourful. Next time I will try it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kclarke5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Good flavor. I used green onions instead of a regular onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was so good! Like another reviewer, I'm a vegetarian and my husband loves chicken. I made the recipe as listed except that I didn't have celery so I subbed a little celery salt and I used mixed French herbs instead of Italian seasoning. At the end I put in cooked finely chopped chicken breast for hubby and the kids and chick peas for myself. It was so good, everyone ate it all up and I have a very fussy family. As a side note, coconut oil does not provide much flavor, I use it as a healthier alternative to vegetable oil when I don't want that bitterness that olive oil can add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kikimouse
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I don't have coconut oil, so I just used canola oil. I also did not add the celery, but did throw in some diced zucchini when I added the chicken. This recipe was great tasting and healthy. You could really add a variety of veggies to your own preference. Will definitely make again - it makes a great weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Sautéed chicken breasts with tasty veggies, nutty quinoa, feta, and fresh basil.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States