Quinoa Pilaf With Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Fantastic and easy recipe. We've been looking for a simple quinoa recipe and this is it! We don't keep shallots and cremini mushrooms in stock so I substituted white onions and white mushrooms and itt turned out to be quite tasty. As the other review stated, it could have used about half the salt. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
great stuff, fabulous taste, but I used commercial vegetable broth, and even omitting the added salt this was waaaay salty!!!! Next time I'll try reduced sodium chicken broth instead, because it was simple enough and tasty enough to merit extra chances and experimentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZSRT8
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Very tasty! I'm so glad hubby liked this! Miracle! If you are sensitive to salt, I'd start out with a little less salt because you can always add more. I thought it bordered on being just a little salty---which could be because even though I did use a good organic version of vegetable stock, it may have contained more salt than I figured on (I really need to make my own---note to self). I may have added a touch more mushrooms and shallot than it called for, but that's normal for me. Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I didn't even add the onions, and it turned out to be very tasty. I didn't have rice, so I chose this recipe. It beats rice by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEANN
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
geez-owie is this good. was looking for a vegetarian potluck recipe and this fit the bill. only changes I made are to omit the added salt (not needed if your stock is flavorful), used shitake instead of cremini (it's what my shroom vendor had), and I added toasted slivered almonds at the end. Next time I will use less liquid, as it was too moist (my normal quinoa recipe calls for less than 2:1 water to grain, so I should have held back). Other than that, great! and it dried out overnight to a better consistency. I can see this being a go-to recipe because of all its healthy ingreds (3 of the GBOMBS!). No reason not to increase the mushroom and shallot amounts. Also, I think any sliced shrooms will do fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This recipe is amazing - one of my absolute favorites. That being said, definitely cut the salt in half or even just don't add any at all if your stock is already salty. Other than that, I like a few more mushrooms and shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Very easy, fast and delicious. Even my little kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I cut the quinoa to 1/2 cup because this recipe was only for one person. I used a styo-box of mushrooms and about 1-1/2 cups of home-made veg broth. I also added 2T of sesame seeds and toasted with the mushrooms. I used this as a side dish with leftovers, but will also use it as a main course in the future because it has good protein as is. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
My daughter hasn't warmed up to quinoa until this dish. The thing that made this a winner is sauteing the quinoa in olive oil to brown. It really brings out flavor! I didn't have a shallot or mushrooms, so I used 1/4 of a white onion, and a 1/2 cup of broccoli, chopped. I think it would be wonderful with the shallots and mushrooms, but I didn't have time to go to the store. I also used chicken broth (all I had on hand) with great results. I didn't find it too salty, but used good, low salt broth. The only thing I added was some shredded parmesan cheese to the hot quinoa once I dished it onto plates. Just a sprinkle. The family really liked this dish. It will make it into our regular rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Yummy! Hubby and I are trying to eat healthy and this is a great alternative to pasta or white rice. Followed the recipe, except used only 1 teaspoon salt. Can't wait to add some extra veggies to the leftovers and have a totally different dish tomorrow. It made enough for both of us to eat again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States