Quinoa Pilaf With Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. We used hen of the woods mushrooms from our yard that are always delicious, and we ended up picking them out of the pilaf and leaving the rest. I've tried to find ways to use quinoa that we like; this just isn't to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This was pretty much flavor-free. After my first taste, I doubled the mushrooms and threw in a handful of sliced scallions, but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I cut the quinoa to 1/2 cup because this recipe was only for one person. I used a styo-box of mushrooms and about 1-1/2 cups of home-made veg broth. I also added 2T of sesame seeds and toasted with the mushrooms. I used this as a side dish with leftovers, but will also use it as a main course in the future because it has good protein as is. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
My daughter hasn't warmed up to quinoa until this dish. The thing that made this a winner is sauteing the quinoa in olive oil to brown. It really brings out flavor! I didn't have a shallot or mushrooms, so I used 1/4 of a white onion, and a 1/2 cup of broccoli, chopped. I think it would be wonderful with the shallots and mushrooms, but I didn't have time to go to the store. I also used chicken broth (all I had on hand) with great results. I didn't find it too salty, but used good, low salt broth. The only thing I added was some shredded parmesan cheese to the hot quinoa once I dished it onto plates. Just a sprinkle. The family really liked this dish. It will make it into our regular rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I have never had quinoa before so I wasn't sure what to expect. Much better then I thought it would be and very easy. I used Chicken stock because that's what I had and it was still good. I think it's a fun thing to experiment with and add your favorite things. I will do feta and nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Delicious! the whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This recipe is amazing - one of my absolute favorites. That being said, definitely cut the salt in half or even just don't add any at all if your stock is already salty. Other than that, I like a few more mushrooms and shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Yummy! Hubby and I are trying to eat healthy and this is a great alternative to pasta or white rice. Followed the recipe, except used only 1 teaspoon salt. Can't wait to add some extra veggies to the leftovers and have a totally different dish tomorrow. It made enough for both of us to eat again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Very easy, fast and delicious. Even my little kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This dish was excellent and made more than I expected. Next time though, I would cut the salt in 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Chef John's Farro with Wild Mushrooms

Delicious dish with farro, wild mushrooms and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States