Quinoa Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This was my first time cooking quinoa and i loved it. i didn't have any walnuts, so i added a touch of black walnut extract, but it was still really good. my 2 year old gobbled it right up. i will definately be looking for more quinoa recipes to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidiw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I liked this simple side dish. I didn't have any walnuts so I toasted pine nuts, the dish turned out very tasty. I also used chicken broth. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinedale, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This is a tasty, basic pilaf, open to many variations. I'm always on the lookout for new ways to cook quinoa because it is so super good for you and this is a nice, straightforward way to prepare it. I echo the sentiment of the reviewer who said to follow the directions and **RINSE** quinoa before cooking. It has a natural coating that is very bitter and must be rinsed off. It takes one minute, but means the difference between yummy and inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Surprisingly good! I tasted this prior to adding the parsley and walnuts and thought it was kind of bland. The finished product is very tasty though. Simple and easy recipe, would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is a pretty basic pilaf recipe, and it's fine. However, I think it's really important to stress in the recipe that you have to rinse the quinoa really well before you cook it!!! Otherwise it tastes terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METERMAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Really light and healthy feeling. Tremendously easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Not bad at all! And my kids actually liked it and asked for 2nds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I really liked this pilaf. I'm not a vegetarian, so I used chicken broth in place of the vegetable broth and added some salt, since my broth was homemade and hadn't had salt added. I think quinoa itself is a flavor that takes getting used to, but I really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
not too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-49 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States