Quinoa Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is a pretty basic pilaf recipe, and it's fine. However, I think it's really important to stress in the recipe that you have to rinse the quinoa really well before you cook it!!! Otherwise it tastes terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METERMAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Sorry JBUCK123 - 3 stars for you - 5 stars for me. I changed this so much it isn't the same recipe - BUT I'll give you credit because I used your recipe as the basis for mine. I started by rinsing the Quinoa a couple of times and then soaking it while I fried 1/2 onion with garlic in olive oil and when it was brown added about 1/4 cup of white wine (allowing for the alcohol to burn off), then added carrots, chicken broth and the quinoa. Before serving I added the walnuts. NO bitter taste. This is the first time making and eating Quinoa - thanks for getting me started and achieving 5* results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This is a tasty, basic pilaf, open to many variations. I'm always on the lookout for new ways to cook quinoa because it is so super good for you and this is a nice, straightforward way to prepare it. I echo the sentiment of the reviewer who said to follow the directions and **RINSE** quinoa before cooking. It has a natural coating that is very bitter and must be rinsed off. It takes one minute, but means the difference between yummy and inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I really liked this pilaf. I'm not a vegetarian, so I used chicken broth in place of the vegetable broth and added some salt, since my broth was homemade and hadn't had salt added. I think quinoa itself is a flavor that takes getting used to, but I really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This was my first time cooking quinoa and i loved it. i didn't have any walnuts, so i added a touch of black walnut extract, but it was still really good. my 2 year old gobbled it right up. i will definately be looking for more quinoa recipes to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidiw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Delish! My husband and I thought it was great. I didn't put walnuts or parsley on it. My kids tried it but weren't loving it. But I'll try again and hope they'll develop a taste for it. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I also added some garlic when I sauteed the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I liked this simple side dish. I didn't have any walnuts so I toasted pine nuts, the dish turned out very tasty. I also used chicken broth. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinedale, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Surprisingly good! I tasted this prior to adding the parsley and walnuts and thought it was kind of bland. The finished product is very tasty though. Simple and easy recipe, would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Really light and healthy feeling. Tremendously easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Not bad at all! And my kids actually liked it and asked for 2nds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States