Quinoa Muffins with Peaches and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I was so disappointed that this recipe just did not work for me. I did make two changes - using apricots for the peaches and real brown sugar for the Splenda, but I can't see where either substitution would have made these muffins what they were - dense, chewy, gritty and aside from the fruit, almost flavorless. I think if I were to try this I would grind or pulverize the dry quinoa and add as flour, and maybe that would help with the texture, but it still needs more spice, maybe more fruit and maybe even more sweetness. I won't make these again, but I am inspired by this recipe to figure out a way to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
WITH CHANGES - first time I did it just as written and it was just too dense, I think it just needs a bit more fat. I added 1/4 of oil, I haven't tried to half that with applesauce yet. I increased the brown sugar to 2/3 of a cup, double what is written, and I don't use soy milk so I used 1% milk. With those changes they were very good, not sure about the difference that will make in fat and calorie counts, but they were tasty and smooth, not dense at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Well, these muffins are ok. I made the following changes: I used canned peaches instead of dried, there for I didn't cook them with apple cider. I did add about 1/4 cup apple cider concentrate, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon of nutmeg and just over 1/4 teaspoon of cloves. They turned out all right, they're a little dense and sticky and they are a little bland. I'm going to keep playing with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I suggest 1 cup of cooked quinoa and omitting some of the other liquid by a quarter cup.Use whole wheat flour for more protein and add a few tablespoon more brown sugar and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I used dried mangoes from Costco instead of peaches, and craisans instead of pecans as we are a nut free home. Also used real brown sugar. I really liked them and will be making them again. They are a different texture but are nice and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I also changed a few things, but I was very happy with the result. Because it is summer, I replaced peaches and apple cider with 1 cup fresh blueberries and 1/2 cup stewed rhubarb. I used quinoa flour. I doubled the sweetener. I replaced pecans with walnuts, and soy milk with almond beverage (unsweetened), because these were what I had. They turned out very tasty, which was lucky - I feel good about sharing them with company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Because of the quinoa I was interested in trying this recipe despite the lukewarm reviews. I added a jar of baby food peach puree in hopes it would add more flavour. I have just peeked at them in the oven. They haven't raised at all. They have more of a pudding consistency then one of a muffin. I wonder if cutting down the cooked quinoa to 1 cup might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States