Quinoa Chocolate Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Did I miss something? First of all, I thought this was to be baked but never saw instructions to pre-heat oven. Then I realized it was just cooked. But mine never got hard. It stayed a smooth liquid. Was the quinoa to be cooked? It never says to. But since the mixture stayed a liquid and the quinoa was just the hard little spheres in its original form, I wondered. If it was cooked, maybe the mixture would solidify. So my trial was a huge failure. I hate wasting not only the ingredients, but the time and effort as well. Someone please help me figure out what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Sometimes, the blending of two good things does NOT necessarily make it better, as is the case with this odd, tooth-shattering concoction. This recipe just does not cut it. Oh, the chocolate and the mint were just fine, but the minute that gritty raw quinoa joined it - well, that's when it all went south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised by this treat. After reading the other reviews I was nervous, I have only experimented with quinoa a few times- each time ended badly. And I also do not like any crunch in my cookies or brownies. However, I love chocolate so I had to try it and I am so glad I did! This is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I halfed the recipe incase it didn't turn out and I also added extra peppermint. It tasted very good but the quinoa was just too hard and too much in your mouth. Maybe less quinoa would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I saw the unusual ingredients and I just HAD to try this. Sometimes the weirdest recipes are the most interesting tasting.. Anyway, these were yummy. I had though that the quinoa might soften up a bit in the chocolate, but it really didn't. They weren't overly hard or teeth breaking.. kind of like little tiny grains of earthy nuttiness stewn throughout. They didn't taste overly sweet to me either, which was nice. I actually nuked the chocolate mixture in the microwave because I've had chocolate seize up on me on the stovetop and didn't want to chance it here. I can't wait to share these treats with friends.. I won't tell them what is it and and then will watch their reactions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is some seriously crazy stuff. The flavor is fantastic (depending on the qualify of ingredients you use, of course), but when you bite into a piece your head kind of rattles a little because of all of the quinoa popping against your teeth, and just when you think you're done with a bite . . . you're not - really. That quinoa just hangs around and hangs around in your mouth defying all sorts of statistical odds. Since quinoa is on the pricey side, I definitely wouldn't consider doing this again, but I give serious kudos to Anthony for the sheer unlikeliness of the ingredients in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I made this but I think i did something wrong because it came out like fudge and never really hardened? Was it supposed to be like a rice crispy treat? Idid like the taste alot though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I'm a huge fan of *cooked* quinoa, but apparently not of uncooked. The chocolate and marshmallow part of it was fantastic, but the texture and flavor of the quinoa reminded me of birdseed with a nasty aftertaste. I couldn't eat more than one little bite :( What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talkn3rdytome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I gave this a try and yup, it was worth it. I did cut the bars small (about an inch square) since they are calorie and fat laden. I do think the calorie count given is on the extremely high side. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States