Quinoa Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I LOVED this. I doubled the recipe so I could take dinner to a friend as well and it turned out to be a HUGE pot of food enough to feed both of our families dinner twice with more for a lunch as well! Because kids were going to be eating it I skipped the jalepeno and only added half the chili powder. It was not spicy at all, but it was still full of flavor! I did have to add some liquid, and I used a can of chicken broth (or half a can for a single recipe). I will definitely be making this again. EDIT: Now that I have made this a second time I will say that I believe that the flavor is much improved by cooking the quinoa in chicken broth (or vegetable broth if you prefer) instead of water. I think I did this without even thinking about it the first time because I almost always do when cooking grains. This time I didn't bother with it, and the flavor was not as good. I remedied it by dissolving some "Better than Bouillon" in a couple of tablespoons of water and stirring this into the finished chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Wow, so good (we love quinoa), I omitted the zucc (didn't have one) and the meat and added a can of V8 as it was quite dry. Excellent flavour and left overs for lunches! We will make this at least once a month, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I liked this a lot but had to add some water to keep it from getting too thick. Also, with personal taste, I just like things a bit spicier so added some ground red pepper. I served mine over a baked potato with shredded low fat cheese and fat free sour cream and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is an amazing chili recipe! I followed the directions exactly except that I cooked the chili in the crock pot. I didn't add the quinoa to crock pot because I was afraid it would dry out into porridge. I cooked it on low for 15 hours and then added the cooked quinoa to the finished chili. The chili was a tiny bit watery from the crock pot, but it thickened up nicely once I added the quinoa. This is a really tasty and healthy recipe. I topped it with a bit of avocado and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Quinoa Chili Haiku: "Magical quinoa, elevates chili to 'wow!' A little too thick." This chili is heavenly, and we adored the earthy bite of the quinoa addition. I only wish that I'd added some diced canned chipotles in adobo, per the other recipe on here for "Black bean quinoa chili" b/c I think that would've added a special flavor that this seemed to be missing. Otherwise, I was faithful to the recipe's ingredients, but I put everything (save the cooked quinoa) in the crockpot b4 leaving for work in the a.m., and stirred the quinoa in when I got home. The quinoa balloons up so I only made about 3/4 c., and then it begins to absorb all of what remains of the liquid in the chili (which really, is only that from the canned tomatoes), so I had to add a little water to counter the gummy thickness. With a sprinkle of cheese and a handful of cilantro, this recipe has transformed us into quinoa+chili junkies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I was doing a cleanse and decided to give this recipe a try (without the ground beef) to add a little variety to my boring cleanse diet. What a pleasant and tasty surprise this dish turned out to be! I never would have thought of using quinoa this way. Thanks for the recipe! It is now a part of our regular rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We LOVED this recipe. Instead of beef, I used ground turkey (dieting here) and didn't put in any of the jalapeno (kids). I added a little extra cumin instead and left out the chili powder. Kids loved it as it was so colourful & the hubby too. Definitely making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Wonderful! This dish is delicious, hearty, and healthy... what more could you want? The only thing I did differently was that I added about a cup of vegetable broth when I added the tomatoes as the chili was very thick and I didn't think it would hold the quinoa well. It was a little "soupy" but when I added the quinoa at the end it soaked everything up to create a thicker consistency (which I prefer when it comes to chili). My boyfriend would have liked it a little spicier so I think I will add a bit more kick to it next time. Overall, a wonderful meal that I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Recipe was good, a little spicy. I suggest cooking the quinoa in half water, half chicken broth for extra flavor. I made it with chicken instead of beef, too. Came out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is fantastic. I made it with the intention of freezing it in portions, then reheating at work, so I wasn't too excited about it at the time. When the time to reheat came, it was incredible. I even got multiple "That smells GOOD" comments from cubemates. Definitely a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States