Quinoa Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I liked this a lot but had to add some water to keep it from getting too thick. Also, with personal taste, I just like things a bit spicier so added some ground red pepper. I served mine over a baked potato with shredded low fat cheese and fat free sour cream and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I LOVED this. I doubled the recipe so I could take dinner to a friend as well and it turned out to be a HUGE pot of food enough to feed both of our families dinner twice with more for a lunch as well! Because kids were going to be eating it I skipped the jalepeno and only added half the chili powder. It was not spicy at all, but it was still full of flavor! I did have to add some liquid, and I used a can of chicken broth (or half a can for a single recipe). I will definitely be making this again. EDIT: Now that I have made this a second time I will say that I believe that the flavor is much improved by cooking the quinoa in chicken broth (or vegetable broth if you prefer) instead of water. I think I did this without even thinking about it the first time because I almost always do when cooking grains. This time I didn't bother with it, and the flavor was not as good. I remedied it by dissolving some "Better than Bouillon" in a couple of tablespoons of water and stirring this into the finished chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Quick and Easy, great spice combination. My husband loves it, and always has second helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Wow, so good (we love quinoa), I omitted the zucc (didn't have one) and the meat and added a can of V8 as it was quite dry. Excellent flavour and left overs for lunches! We will make this at least once a month, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I was doing a cleanse and decided to give this recipe a try (without the ground beef) to add a little variety to my boring cleanse diet. What a pleasant and tasty surprise this dish turned out to be! I never would have thought of using quinoa this way. Thanks for the recipe! It is now a part of our regular rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Quinoa Chili Haiku: "Magical quinoa, elevates chili to 'wow!' A little too thick." This chili is heavenly, and we adored the earthy bite of the quinoa addition. I only wish that I'd added some diced canned chipotles in adobo, per the other recipe on here for "Black bean quinoa chili" b/c I think that would've added a special flavor that this seemed to be missing. Otherwise, I was faithful to the recipe's ingredients, but I put everything (save the cooked quinoa) in the crockpot b4 leaving for work in the a.m., and stirred the quinoa in when I got home. The quinoa balloons up so I only made about 3/4 c., and then it begins to absorb all of what remains of the liquid in the chili (which really, is only that from the canned tomatoes), so I had to add a little water to counter the gummy thickness. With a sprinkle of cheese and a handful of cilantro, this recipe has transformed us into quinoa+chili junkies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Wonderful! This dish is delicious, hearty, and healthy... what more could you want? The only thing I did differently was that I added about a cup of vegetable broth when I added the tomatoes as the chili was very thick and I didn't think it would hold the quinoa well. It was a little "soupy" but when I added the quinoa at the end it soaked everything up to create a thicker consistency (which I prefer when it comes to chili). My boyfriend would have liked it a little spicier so I think I will add a bit more kick to it next time. Overall, a wonderful meal that I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is fantastic. I made it with the intention of freezing it in portions, then reheating at work, so I wasn't too excited about it at the time. When the time to reheat came, it was incredible. I even got multiple "That smells GOOD" comments from cubemates. Definitely a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is an amazing chili recipe! I followed the directions exactly except that I cooked the chili in the crock pot. I didn't add the quinoa to crock pot because I was afraid it would dry out into porridge. I cooked it on low for 15 hours and then added the cooked quinoa to the finished chili. The chili was a tiny bit watery from the crock pot, but it thickened up nicely once I added the quinoa. This is a really tasty and healthy recipe. I topped it with a bit of avocado and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was a good concept and I followed the recipe pretty much as stated. I had to add about a cup of vegetable broth to thicken it up, and I added some taco seasoning and more chili powder. The end result was just ok. I found it quite bland and ended up adding more seasoning and hot sauce to my bowl. I also added extra cilantro to the top, along with some cheese. I appreciate the quinoa/beef idea, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States