Quinoa Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is better than chili. I made this for my husband, and we love it! Tasty and you know you are getting the protein from the quinoa. I always cook my quinoa in one cube of either vegetable bouillion or chicken. Just a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Great recipe! I omitted the corn and zucchini at the request of my husband, but put in more tomatoes to balance it out. Very hearty and flavorful. I doubled the batch and after the four of us ate, we have enough left over for several more meals. My kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Made this vegetarian by using the soy ground beef crumbles in place of ground beef... I have been wanting to try quinoa for the longesst and this is a great way to try it. i used organic vegetable broth from TJs to cook the grain . It reminded me of grits but with an oomph! I think I will have to warm my teenager up to quinoa though. he is veg but this grain has a weird (but weird in a good way) texture. hes the type that dosent like things because of texture. I also kept the quinoa separate from the chili because everyone says it soaks up all the juice. i put the chili in a bowl, topped with quinoa and chopped fresh cilantro and MAN is this delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Very good dish but a little dry for me. I added beef broth and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was very good. The Quinoa was a different touch. Even though I LOVE chili on a baked potato as one cook did I couldn't do it with this one - would have been much too heavy. This is good as is. I skipped the zuccini - didn't want to waste one because it would have got lost. I used ground turkey instead of beef. Other then that I followed the recipe exactly - only increasing the cumin - that is just personal preference. The heat was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I did not add the meat and found it wasn't missed at all. The only thing I will change for next time is add a few fresh tomatoes and spice it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Great flavor! Made the recipe as is until about halfway through, then I realized it needed some liquid so I added two cups of water and a chicken boullion cube and that was perfect. It says 8 servings, those are HEARTY servings. For me personally I think it's closer to 10-12 servings. Great for freezing for later though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I didn't have jalapeño pepper, so I added a small can of diced green chilies. I also omitted the zucchini because i didnt have it on hand. It made so much I made another meal out of it, I put it in a casserole dish, topped with fresh sliced tomatoes and sprinkled shredded cheese on top. It was a huge hit with even my picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made the vegetarian version by excluding the meat. It didn't have quite a enough spice for me (I LOVE everything spicy) so I add some hot sauce to it everytime I eat it :) I really enjoy healthy, delicious dishes like this. I'll for sure save the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I included the ground beef. It is a very thick chili which lacked the kick of chili. I added lots more spices to make it taste like chili. Once doctored up it was good. Easy to make so will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States