Quinoa Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
LOVED THIS!! Every time I find a recipe with quinoa, I am anxious to try it as I love the grain so much - this caught my eye as an unusual and interesting way to use it! I did not add the cilantro at the end due to personal taste (dislike!) and I used ground turkey instead of beef. I also swapped some of the regular chili for some chipotle chili to add some more heat. The other main thing which I found key for this recipe - it NEEDS more liquid. Along with the can of crushed tomatoes, I added a full can of water to the chili, otherwise it would have been way too thick. Overall, a fantastic dish, very yummy and very hearty! A repeat for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
excellent!!! I put all ingredients in crock pot in morning...by evening it was ready and it was fabulous!!!! I did double the recipe and added a can of V8...just awesome!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was an excellent chili that only got better the second and third day. The quinoa stayed crunchy and the only thing I would change was to add a little salt (the recipe says to taste, but I'd add tsp or so right off the bat). My husband said it's a keeper and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is better than chili. I made this for my husband, and we love it! Tasty and you know you are getting the protein from the quinoa. I always cook my quinoa in one cube of either vegetable bouillion or chicken. Just a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Great recipe! I omitted the corn and zucchini at the request of my husband, but put in more tomatoes to balance it out. Very hearty and flavorful. I doubled the batch and after the four of us ate, we have enough left over for several more meals. My kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Made this vegetarian by using the soy ground beef crumbles in place of ground beef... I have been wanting to try quinoa for the longesst and this is a great way to try it. i used organic vegetable broth from TJs to cook the grain . It reminded me of grits but with an oomph! I think I will have to warm my teenager up to quinoa though. he is veg but this grain has a weird (but weird in a good way) texture. hes the type that dosent like things because of texture. I also kept the quinoa separate from the chili because everyone says it soaks up all the juice. i put the chili in a bowl, topped with quinoa and chopped fresh cilantro and MAN is this delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Very good dish but a little dry for me. I added beef broth and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was very good. The Quinoa was a different touch. Even though I LOVE chili on a baked potato as one cook did I couldn't do it with this one - would have been much too heavy. This is good as is. I skipped the zuccini - didn't want to waste one because it would have got lost. I used ground turkey instead of beef. Other then that I followed the recipe exactly - only increasing the cumin - that is just personal preference. The heat was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I did not add the meat and found it wasn't missed at all. The only thing I will change for next time is add a few fresh tomatoes and spice it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Great flavor! Made the recipe as is until about halfway through, then I realized it needed some liquid so I added two cups of water and a chicken boullion cube and that was perfect. It says 8 servings, those are HEARTY servings. For me personally I think it's closer to 10-12 servings. Great for freezing for later though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States