Quinoa Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I love this recipe and it was very easy to make vegetarian with veggie crumbles. I felt it was too thick though and added a 12 oz can of tomato sauce plus a can of water The second time I made it I added in a can of mushrooms. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great recipe! Made as is for the most part. Substituted 1 can of mild rotel and one can of hot for the diced tomatoes and added half cup beef broth for a little extra broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I have made this a number of times now and find it to be a very versatile recipe. You can substitute ground lamb for the ground beef, and add some garam masala and have a sort of chili/curry cross. Or you can prepare it with soy ground beef for vegetarians or exclude the meat altogether. It is great for using up any left over vegetables. Everyone who has tried it, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Made it for family and friends and it was delicious. Everyone gave it a big thumbs up! After reading a few reviews, I decided not to put as much quinoa so as to have some sauce leftover. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I really liked this chili. I made it for a chili cook off and it was nice to have a different and interesting chili in the mix. The only thing I would add to this recipe is either some Asian hot sauce or more jalapenos. I felt that the intense cumin flavor mixed with the nuttiness of the quinoa could stand up to to a bit more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
First time making quiona, my mom loves it and heard how nutritious it is so what better way than chili. Awesome recipe everyone loved it even my 8 year old daughter. Taste even better the next few days this recipe really goes far. Will definitely make again as it is a favorite. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My guy & I like our chili thick so this was perfect. I drained off most juices from the beans, tomatoes, etc, but left a tish in to make it a little naturally juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
LOVED THIS!! Every time I find a recipe with quinoa, I am anxious to try it as I love the grain so much - this caught my eye as an unusual and interesting way to use it! I did not add the cilantro at the end due to personal taste (dislike!) and I used ground turkey instead of beef. I also swapped some of the regular chili for some chipotle chili to add some more heat. The other main thing which I found key for this recipe - it NEEDS more liquid. Along with the can of crushed tomatoes, I added a full can of water to the chili, otherwise it would have been way too thick. Overall, a fantastic dish, very yummy and very hearty! A repeat for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
excellent!!! I put all ingredients in crock pot in morning...by evening it was ready and it was fabulous!!!! I did double the recipe and added a can of V8...just awesome!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was an excellent chili that only got better the second and third day. The quinoa stayed crunchy and the only thing I would change was to add a little salt (the recipe says to taste, but I'd add tsp or so right off the bat). My husband said it's a keeper and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States