Quinoa Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Made it for family and friends and it was delicious. Everyone gave it a big thumbs up! After reading a few reviews, I decided not to put as much quinoa so as to have some sauce leftover. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I really liked this chili. I made it for a chili cook off and it was nice to have a different and interesting chili in the mix. The only thing I would add to this recipe is either some Asian hot sauce or more jalapenos. I felt that the intense cumin flavor mixed with the nuttiness of the quinoa could stand up to to a bit more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
First time making quiona, my mom loves it and heard how nutritious it is so what better way than chili. Awesome recipe everyone loved it even my 8 year old daughter. Taste even better the next few days this recipe really goes far. Will definitely make again as it is a favorite. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My guy & I like our chili thick so this was perfect. I drained off most juices from the beans, tomatoes, etc, but left a tish in to make it a little naturally juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
LOVED THIS!! Every time I find a recipe with quinoa, I am anxious to try it as I love the grain so much - this caught my eye as an unusual and interesting way to use it! I did not add the cilantro at the end due to personal taste (dislike!) and I used ground turkey instead of beef. I also swapped some of the regular chili for some chipotle chili to add some more heat. The other main thing which I found key for this recipe - it NEEDS more liquid. Along with the can of crushed tomatoes, I added a full can of water to the chili, otherwise it would have been way too thick. Overall, a fantastic dish, very yummy and very hearty! A repeat for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
excellent!!! I put all ingredients in crock pot in morning...by evening it was ready and it was fabulous!!!! I did double the recipe and added a can of V8...just awesome!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was an excellent chili that only got better the second and third day. The quinoa stayed crunchy and the only thing I would change was to add a little salt (the recipe says to taste, but I'd add tsp or so right off the bat). My husband said it's a keeper and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is better than chili. I made this for my husband, and we love it! Tasty and you know you are getting the protein from the quinoa. I always cook my quinoa in one cube of either vegetable bouillion or chicken. Just a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Great recipe! I omitted the corn and zucchini at the request of my husband, but put in more tomatoes to balance it out. Very hearty and flavorful. I doubled the batch and after the four of us ate, we have enough left over for several more meals. My kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Made this vegetarian by using the soy ground beef crumbles in place of ground beef... I have been wanting to try quinoa for the longesst and this is a great way to try it. i used organic vegetable broth from TJs to cook the grain . It reminded me of grits but with an oomph! I think I will have to warm my teenager up to quinoa though. he is veg but this grain has a weird (but weird in a good way) texture. hes the type that dosent like things because of texture. I also kept the quinoa separate from the chili because everyone says it soaks up all the juice. i put the chili in a bowl, topped with quinoa and chopped fresh cilantro and MAN is this delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States