Quinoa Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Busy_mom
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I was looking for a good way to introduce my family to quinoa; I have some very picky eaters. It was a HUGE success! We all loved it! Topped with a little sour cream, cheese, green onions and cilantro... This is a 10!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Photo by mmhmm
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
So good. Didn't want it to be too spicy, so cut out the jalapeno and used chili powder to taste. I cook the quinoa in vegetable broth for more flavor and I find that I need to continuously add liquid to the cooking quinoa to keep it from burning. I have made this many times and it is definitely my favorite chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Followed proportions on all ingredients and it was outstanding. Added some spicy V8 tomato juice at the end so it wasn't as thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very nice meal. There are so many ingredients in there that I decided not to add the quinoa in the end. Instead I layered the chili over the quinoa when I served it. I agree that quinoa is better prepared in a broth instead of water for better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This was a fantastic, healthy chili. It freezes easily. I put the left overs into small freezer containers and brought them to work for lunches. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Very good. Not the most flavorful but it is a great base dish that you can taylor to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This recipe was featured on the food blog Colourful Dish (www.colourfuldish.wordpress.com) and it was really tasty, but I must say that I found it a little bland as is, so I did add some extra seasoning to make it pop just that much more. I also didn't have zucchini so I added bok choy instead. It was a very colourful dinner and all in all it was tasty. With that said, it's very similar to other chilis, and I would've thought that given it's name, the quinoa would've had a more powerful role.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Spragge

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Made this recipe exactly as written, and it had no flavor whatsoever. This was bizarre because it smelled wonderful when cooking. Not a bad flavor, just none. I wound up having to add a ton more spice (and of different variety) to get any taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I added adobo seasoning and it made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Our whole family loved this meal, gave it 8/10, even our 5 yr old and 7 yr old friend ended up eating 2nds. I used 1/2 lb ground brown chicken and pink himalayan sea salt which really brought out the flavours. It was also very dry for me so I added about a cup of water and veg broth to keep it moist. It's definitely on the high frequency list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States