Quinoa Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
very good, left out the meat and needs a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Not a very appetizing texture, tasted a little like a copper penny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bernadette Marlene Drobny
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Wow! This was amazing! Of course I did some tweeking. Like others instead of water I used vegetable stock to cook the quinoa. Also took other reviews advice about the "spice" factor. I used 2 jalepenos, 1.5 T of cumin. 1 T of ancho chile powder and about 1T chipotle chile powder and a couple sprinkles in the with meat. When I added everything together I also thought it was a bit thick. No problem. So I added a splash of veg stock, a can of tomatoes chili style, along with a small can of diced tomatoes that I had on hand. I added the extra tomatoes basically because we don't eat beans and I forgot the corn. Topped everything with melted cheddar cheese and cilantro and YUM! I loved the zucchini bites the most! This was delicious and a great way to incorporate all the health benefits of quinoa :) Thanks so much the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This is my new favorite chili recipe. The addition of the quinoa and the Zucchini gives it a nutritious boost and the corn, black beans, and cilantro give it a perfect southwestern taste. I added an additional can of kidney beans, and added an entire can of corn (without draining). It turned out perfect! I'm making this again soon. It was very filling and the leftovers tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Perfect!! Added a can of corn with the liquid in it, only had to add a little water close to the end. Goes great with Hannaford's recipe for Hearty Corn and Bean pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Use 2 1/2 cups of water for the quinoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
The taste was good, but next time I would cut down on the amount of quinoa. It was more like a chili-flavored quinoa side dish than chili. Or maybe I'm just too picky right now because I'm pregnant and any food kind of makes me queasy. I'll add an extra star just for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This is on our regular rotation. My whole family loves this including our 15 month old. It is very mild even with the jalapeno. One hint is to soak the quinoa before cooking it. Quinoa has a bitter outer coating that will be removed if soaked then rinsed before cooking it. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Pretty good! I added more crushed tomatoes because it was really thick. Also had to add more chili powder and replaced jalapeno with red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBUGSMAMMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
to cure the too dry thing, just add the juice from the beans and tomatoes. had no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States