Quinoa Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is definitely a very tasty chili. I made it exatly as called out the 1st time and thought it was really good. Since then I've made it many more times and have made some changes only to suit my own personal preferences. I either eliminate the bell peppers all together or substitute with sweet petite's. I just don't care for the texture of peppers. I also leave out the jalapeno, again texture issue and add a 15 oz. can of Hunt's sweet onion tomatoes, this really helps to compliment the little bit of heat of the chili.I try to always use fresh corn and always add some cayene pepper along with the black pepper. When the chili is done I always add several dashes of jalapeno flavored tobasco sauce. This really spices up the flavors. I don't add the quinoa to the chili and make cornbread for some family & friends who have that preference, and everyone makes there individual servings. As well, the cilantro is added individually per preference. Wonderful chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micahsgrandma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Yum! I had never cooked with quinoa before and this was super easy and my whole family loved it. It was really quick to throw together after a long day at work, though I do have to admit I skipped the peppers and zucchini but added some green taco sauce to make up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I've made this twice and love it. I keep it cooking a lot longer for the peppers to soften and flavours to blend. I've been feeding this to friends and it's a hit. Better than my previous chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
very good, left out the meat and needs a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Not a very appetizing texture, tasted a little like a copper penny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bernadette Marlene
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Wow! This was amazing! Of course I did some tweeking. Like others instead of water I used vegetable stock to cook the quinoa. Also took other reviews advice about the "spice" factor. I used 2 jalepenos, 1.5 T of cumin. 1 T of ancho chile powder and about 1T chipotle chile powder and a couple sprinkles in the with meat. When I added everything together I also thought it was a bit thick. No problem. So I added a splash of veg stock, a can of tomatoes chili style, along with a small can of diced tomatoes that I had on hand. I added the extra tomatoes basically because we don't eat beans and I forgot the corn. Topped everything with melted cheddar cheese and cilantro and YUM! I loved the zucchini bites the most! This was delicious and a great way to incorporate all the health benefits of quinoa :) Thanks so much the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette Marlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This is my new favorite chili recipe. The addition of the quinoa and the Zucchini gives it a nutritious boost and the corn, black beans, and cilantro give it a perfect southwestern taste. I added an additional can of kidney beans, and added an entire can of corn (without draining). It turned out perfect! I'm making this again soon. It was very filling and the leftovers tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Perfect!! Added a can of corn with the liquid in it, only had to add a little water close to the end. Goes great with Hannaford's recipe for Hearty Corn and Bean pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Use 2 1/2 cups of water for the quinoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
The taste was good, but next time I would cut down on the amount of quinoa. It was more like a chili-flavored quinoa side dish than chili. Or maybe I'm just too picky right now because I'm pregnant and any food kind of makes me queasy. I'll add an extra star just for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States