Quinoa Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
LOVE this recipe! A few edits... - I didn't have crushed tomatoes. Instead, I blended up a can of chopped tomatoes. -I left out the jalapenos because I didn't have any. I added a can of rotel instead. - I added a TBSP of beef bullion to the pot of chili and 1 tsp of bullion per cup of water used to cook the quinoa. I put everything except the quinoa in the crockpot on low for 5ish hours. I cooked the quinoa in our rice cooker and added it at right before we sat down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I have made this 2 times and have to add so much liquid that I then have to add many more spices to get the right flavor. There is no way that you can make this without more liquid. Original recipe should be adjusted accordingly. It tastes great when I doubled the spices and added beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was my first time trying Quinoa. It was pretty good. I read most of the reviews before attempting this recipe. Like most others had said, it was a little bland. I added a few dashes of Worcershire sauce and that didn't fix it. Then i added some all purpose seasoning and it was still missing something. Then i added a packet of Ranch dressing. That was the ticket! It turned the chili from OK to amazing. I highly recommend this modification. I also loved all the vegetables in it. Don't skip the zucchini, it was my favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyducklyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This was a great healthy meal. I love how you can make it vegetarian by omitting the meat which we did. It was so satisfying and filling and made enough for a few more dinners and lunches throughout the week. I made mine pretty spicy but really enjoyed it with a little melted cheddar on top and a dollop of plain Greek yogurt to cool it down. Will be making this again and again, many thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Great recipe. My husband loved it and my picky 8 year old ate every bite. I used chicken broth to cook the quinoa and left out the jalapeño and halved the chili powder and cumin. Just the right amount of spice for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I loved it. I had to use diced tomatoes instead, but it was still wonderful. Unfortuately I was the only one who did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKGAMBIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
A super hearty chili- I left out the beef, and jalapeno. I have a small rice cooker that I use to cook the quinoa in, which works great! I make this chili, with variations, several times a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Was good. Made vegetarian by adding more beans and quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Everyone in my family loved this! I did add beef broth to make it a little juicier & my fiance loves a little more spice so we added red pepper, but otherwise no changes. Great quinoa recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
One of our favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmrscott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevenson, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States