Quinoa Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Great flavor! Made the recipe as is until about halfway through, then I realized it needed some liquid so I added two cups of water and a chicken boullion cube and that was perfect. It says 8 servings, those are HEARTY servings. For me personally I think it's closer to 10-12 servings. Great for freezing for later though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I didn't have jalapeño pepper, so I added a small can of diced green chilies. I also omitted the zucchini because i didnt have it on hand. It made so much I made another meal out of it, I put it in a casserole dish, topped with fresh sliced tomatoes and sprinkled shredded cheese on top. It was a huge hit with even my picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made the vegetarian version by excluding the meat. It didn't have quite a enough spice for me (I LOVE everything spicy) so I add some hot sauce to it everytime I eat it :) I really enjoy healthy, delicious dishes like this. I'll for sure save the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I included the ground beef. It is a very thick chili which lacked the kick of chili. I added lots more spices to make it taste like chili. Once doctored up it was good. Easy to make so will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
really really good and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Great...even my picky husband enjoyed it! I chose not to mix the quinoa in but served it on the side. AND , I substituted soy crumbles for the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I thought this recipe was great and very easy to make, although I think the prep time is a little longer than it says. I don't eat red meat, so substituted ground turkey. Also, I didn't have chili pepper (didn't realize it until I was cooking), so I substituted a Cajun seasoning that still added a lot of great flavor (although I would change it to 3/4 tsp). Instead of the large bell peppers that it calls for, I opted for yellow, orange and red baby sweet bell peppers , which added great flavor. It also added a nice touch of presentation, since they're smaller and can be cut from the ends up to the stem, resulting in small, circular slices that look lovely in the dish. I agree that you need to add more water (I added one 28 oz can, and will need to add more to reheat, since it has thickened overnight). All in all a great recipe for the cold weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Original recipe was great taste-wise but it was a little too dry. I added a small can of diced tomatoes with juices and it greatly helped the texture. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Simply wonderful! Followed recipe but altered slightly to better suit our taste. Since we prefer our dishes not too spicy, I omitted the jalapeno. Omitted the grn pepper since we don't care for grn peppers & increased the r. pepper since we love r. pepper. After sautéing the onion (& 5 lg. clvs garlic at the last 2 mins), I remove from skillet & sautéd r. pepper as well (about 8 mins). We like our r. pepper cooked down slightly to bring out the flavor (you could probably sauté the onion & r. pepper together, & garlic at last 2 mins). Tossed in zucchini at last 2 mins. Omitted cilantro since we don't care for it. Used organic chicken broth rather than water to cook quinoa (enhances flavor) & instead of ground beef or turkey, used TVP (Textured Vegetable Protein). A wonderful meat substitute! *Bob's Red Mill TVP is the best! (also Quinoa) Google it or look it up (Amazon, Vitacost, etc.) & read the reviews. This is a must have for the peeps who want to incorporate healthier foods into their diet. Reconstitute the TVP with org. chicken/veg. broth by bring broth to a simmer in med. skillet. Stir in TVP, lower temp. cont. stirring & let reconstitute for 1 min. Remove from heat & viola, you have your "protein packed" meat substitute. Added an extra cup of org. chicken broth to the chili to keep from being too thick. The chili was not only incredibly flavorful but it's PACKED with protein & virtually fat free. A dollop of low-fat sour cream made an extra yummy addition. Bon appétit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dayni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Great taste, lots of interesting colours (red, white, yellow, green, black) and textures (vegetables, quinoa).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Mitaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States