Quinoa Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
to cure the too dry thing, just add the juice from the beans and tomatoes. had no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This chili tasted great although I changed it up a bit. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and omitted the jalepenos because I didn't have any. In its place, I used crush red pepper and also a couple tablespoons of horseradish for an extra kick. I also didn't use zucchini because I didn't have any on hand. Lastly, I didn't add the quinoa to the pot of chili because it is my personal preference to mix the quinoa and chili in my bowl (because of the water soaking up issue).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinjae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Busy_mom
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I was looking for a good way to introduce my family to quinoa; I have some very picky eaters. It was a HUGE success! We all loved it! Topped with a little sour cream, cheese, green onions and cilantro... This is a 10!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Photo by mmhmm
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
So good. Didn't want it to be too spicy, so cut out the jalapeno and used chili powder to taste. I cook the quinoa in vegetable broth for more flavor and I find that I need to continuously add liquid to the cooking quinoa to keep it from burning. I have made this many times and it is definitely my favorite chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Followed proportions on all ingredients and it was outstanding. Added some spicy V8 tomato juice at the end so it wasn't as thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very nice meal. There are so many ingredients in there that I decided not to add the quinoa in the end. Instead I layered the chili over the quinoa when I served it. I agree that quinoa is better prepared in a broth instead of water for better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This was a fantastic, healthy chili. It freezes easily. I put the left overs into small freezer containers and brought them to work for lunches. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Very good. Not the most flavorful but it is a great base dish that you can taylor to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This recipe was featured on the food blog Colourful Dish (www.colourfuldish.wordpress.com) and it was really tasty, but I must say that I found it a little bland as is, so I did add some extra seasoning to make it pop just that much more. I also didn't have zucchini so I added bok choy instead. It was a very colourful dinner and all in all it was tasty. With that said, it's very similar to other chilis, and I would've thought that given it's name, the quinoa would've had a more powerful role.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Spragge

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Made this recipe exactly as written, and it had no flavor whatsoever. This was bizarre because it smelled wonderful when cooking. Not a bad flavor, just none. I wound up having to add a ton more spice (and of different variety) to get any taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States