Quinoa Chard Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. I didn't have any mushrooms, so I used a can of tomatoes with basil and garlic. I also added dried lentils when the quinoa was added so I used a bit more water and the juice from the diced tomatoes. Some salt and pepper and seasoned to our taste. It was very filling and the vegetable broth gave it depth. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I always forget how flavorful vegetable stock can be. This recipe was delicious! I used dry lentils instead of canned and it was still good. You can can add more chard than the recipe says if you like the green stuff (I do!) Thanks for a great quinoa recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Love this recipe! Healthy, tasty, beautiful. I made a big batch of this (it makes alot) and had it for packing my lunch all week. Quinoa is a very low sodium, wheat free, non-gluten whole grain rich in antioxidants and dietary fiber. Drizzle it with flax oil and some wheat free Tamari sauce - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was pretty good but a little bit bland - I added 1 tsp each of dried basil and oregano, omitted the mushrooms, used a packet of frozen spinach instead of the chard, and added 1 pound of wood roasted salmon - great complete meal for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
What a power meal! It was delicious. I made a few changes... I used 1 cup quinoa and 1 cup amaranth. I dry-roasted the grains in the pot first, took them out, and then started the recipe from saute-ing the onions and garlic. I used half veg. broth and half water, with a dash of salt, since we usually like our food with light flavor. I also used dried lentils, as mentioned by the other users, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Tried this recipe a few months ago. It was my first experience with quinoa and I must say I was VERY impressed. Quinoa is now a staple food in my house. Simple, satisfying and flavorful, I've passed this on to everyone I know who cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flip Wibbly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I just made this as written except I used dried lentils - I want to eat more chard (I'm growing it in my backyard) but I don't like it much - it was easy to eat in this recipe! I really liked it and will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Very yummy! I did make a few little modifications, though. 1st of all, I didn't have quinoa, so I used brown rice. I also used dry red lentils instead of canned. I threw in 3 bay leaves with the garlic and onion and left them in the pot to simmer with everything. I chopped up a tomato and added that. It was great (and healthy)! Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Overall, I really enjoyed this although it was a bit bland. I added some tomato sauce once it cooled down and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I love quinoa but I found this recipe very bland even after adding oregano and basil as one other reviewer recommended. I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States