Quinoa Chard Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Very yummy! I did make a few little modifications, though. 1st of all, I didn't have quinoa, so I used brown rice. I also used dry red lentils instead of canned. I threw in 3 bay leaves with the garlic and onion and left them in the pot to simmer with everything. I chopped up a tomato and added that. It was great (and healthy)! Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was just okay. I love quinoa and usually use it in recipes that call for rice, but I just wasn't impressed with the flavor of this one. There was too much onion for my taste, and I think it could have used some fresh herbs. The lentils (I used dried red) added a nice creamy texture, and the chard was good, so I'll probably stick with that as a base, but I don't plan to keep this recipe as is. Thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I used barley in place of quinoa and added 1/4 cup chopped cooked bacon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was the first dish I've made with quinoa - it was a great dish, and it got rave reviews from friends at a potluck. The only subsitution I made was rather than all vegetable broth, I subsituted and herb and garlic boullion cube for more flavour. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I made this last night it was simple to make and my husband and I found it to be tasty. However, we both felt as though somthing was missing in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. I didn't have any mushrooms, so I used a can of tomatoes with basil and garlic. I also added dried lentils when the quinoa was added so I used a bit more water and the juice from the diced tomatoes. Some salt and pepper and seasoned to our taste. It was very filling and the vegetable broth gave it depth. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I always forget how flavorful vegetable stock can be. This recipe was delicious! I used dry lentils instead of canned and it was still good. You can can add more chard than the recipe says if you like the green stuff (I do!) Thanks for a great quinoa recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Very tasty recipe. Also substituted spinach b/c no chard on hand. Will make again as it's very healthy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was pretty good but a little bit bland - I added 1 tsp each of dried basil and oregano, omitted the mushrooms, used a packet of frozen spinach instead of the chard, and added 1 pound of wood roasted salmon - great complete meal for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coblue
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This dish is simple and delicious! I didn't have swiss chard, so I used spinach and it fit just fine. Either if these greens would give great flavor. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States