Quinoa Chard Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I was a little worried this might be bland with so much quinoa and no spices or salt added, but it's absolutely wonderful just as posted. I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Maybe 3.5 - it was definitely bland the night I made it, but got better then next day for leftovers - I added soy sauce, salt, pepper, oregano into the mix and then fresh tomatoes and basil on top, that all helped it taste pretty good. It makes a TON so, definitely make it in a large pan or you'll run into trouble wilting the chard at the end. A decent basic recipe, but wouldn't make it without a bunch of added extra flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
We didn't have lentils so we made it without and just used 2 bunches of the chard to make up for them. I added some siracha for a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was an awesome vegan main dish! It really reminds me of a modified kitchari. I, like others, used dried lentils. However, I soaked them first for about 2 hours and used about a 1/4 to 1/2 cup more than the recipe called for. I also seasoned it with a small amount of Bragg's liquid aminos Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauai Keli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was alright but needed a lot of modifications. I tripled the lentils to make this a heartier meal. I increased the garlic to 4 cloves and added 1 tsp thyme and 1 tsp red pepper flake to the hot oil to give it some flavour, as well as adding sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste at the end. My husband wants to know where to bacon is ;) but I enjoyed this easy and healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I like this recipe, and I like eating this type of fast, healthy, simple food. Some rated it as bland, but of course you need to add salt and pepper to taste as you would to any other recipe. I sliced up an inch of un-peeled ginger and threw it into the pot as everything cooked. I used dried lentils instead of canned: 1/2 cup black beluga lentils from Timeless Foods. I added an extra cup of water to compensate for the dried lentils. Instead of 4 cups of veggie broth, I used 2 cups of water and 2 cups of veggie broth to avoid that over-brothy flavor you can get from cooking with non-homemade veg broth. I used shiitake mushrooms for their rich flavor. It came out great! I think it will be a staple for me. Oh, and I used red quinoa, it's a little nuttier than white, but white is good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was pretty good. My first bite I thought it was a little weird, but as I ate it I got kind of addicted. I made a half recipe and ate a lot of it. I added a little more onion and garlic than it called for. I also used 1/2c dry lentils and added 1c water to the quinoa/broth mixture instead of canned lentils. It turned out great. Seems like the people who are accusing it of being bland may have been the ones who subbed spinach for the chard - the chard adds a bit of a bite. I also added both salt and pepper. I made salmon with it, but didn't serve it with the salmon because it wasn't done in time. Good on it's own! I'll probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHNDIPITY02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I amped up the amount of veggies and added some salt and pepper - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This dish was too bland for me. I added salt and low-sodium soy sauce to give it some pizzaz. Wish I had added some sherry during the cooking process, that may have elevated the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Loved it! I had some rainbow chard to use up and wanted to try out quinoa. I couldn't find canned lentils and ended up using a half cup of dried lentils and adding in an extra cup of water and letting the quinoa and lentils cook together. It probably could have used more water but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States