Quinoa Chard Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I rated this with 4 stars primarily because I thought it was easy to make and combined so many of my favorite, healthy ingredients (quinoa, chard, mushrooms). As to taste, I thought it was bland prepared as directed as did my 3-year-old and almost 2-year-old who prefer a more rich flavor. But I think it's absolutely worth tweaking to our taste, starting with more garlic and possibly either tamari as one reviewer suggested or tomato sauce per another suggestion. I did make a couple of changes due to my pantry/fridge inventories. I only had dry lentils and no time to cook them (I'm a novice with dried beans and didn't want to try adding those), so I used canned kidney beans. And I added a little bit of kale as I had about a half cup's worth I needed to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
First I have to warn: this makes a LOT. I think it's more than 8 servings. That being said, it was really very good. Even my kids liked it which is always a surprise. The only think I (personally) would like it is more swiss chard in it. What I did was a steamed the chard stems separately and added them to my dish. I love chard and this made the recipe perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very tasty! Like most others, I made some substitutions. Added more garlic, used garbanzos instead of lentils, also added a can of diced tomatoes with basil and oregano. I also used the stems of the chard - have to get all the good stuff in there! Definitely a keeper, especially given how versatile it was. Didn't need the whole quart of broth, though - took me longer than expected to get the liquid to boil down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Loved this!! Fed this is my boyfriend and he was also impressed. Our new favorite meatless meal! Made some modifications.... I sauteed the swiss chard stems in the beginning w/ the onion. It game the whole dish a kind of redish huge. Other commenters mentioned it was bit bland so I added two small peppers, a bay leaf, basil, and oregano. Not bland at all! Also, left out the mushrooms. Super yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
My family loved this! Super tasty. Love the texture. And pretty filling. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Thanks for a great recipe. I made this as a side for dinner with a group of friends, and it was a unilateral hit, two people asked me for the recipe! Like many people, I used what I had around, and swapped in red quinoa, and spinach for the chard, but the basic flavour and texture combination remained the same. This will certainly become a go-to recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Very good healthy recipe! I always add a hodgepodge of whatever vegetables I have around to the mix. Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
So, I'm a member of a CSA this year for the first time, and I'm trying to find ways to work new veggies into my diet. And I didn't like Chard the first time I tried it, and i'd never ever tried Quinoa. This recipe has become a staple, quite literally, in my diet. It's become a joke at work, because everyone wants to see what variation I've done this week! But this starting point is excellent! It's on the stove right now, chard a'wilting, getting ready to take for lunch tomorrow. I've added black beans, lima beans, kale, tomatoes, and i usu omit the mushrooms because they're not a favorite of mine. But it is hard to beat the way it's written. Thank you for this recipe. I don't remember what i used to have for lunch before i found it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIEMAY84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
An excellent milder side dish to accompany a meat with stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Update: I make this every year now. I now add a red and yellow bell pepper for color, and I've recently discovered it looks prettier with red quinoa rather than regular. I always used dried lentils.::: This was great for my over abundance of home grown Rainbow Chard. The chard is very tender compared to storebought, which might make a difference in the taste for some. Canned lentils aren't available at my grocery, so I've used canned pigeon peas or dry lentils. I put the chopped stems in with the garlic/onions, and I've been known to sprinkle it with parmesan, at someone else's suggestion. Recently I doubled the recipe and used 2 Cups quinoa, and 2 Cups of couscous. The couscous was cooked separately and stirred in with the chard. No matter how many servings you make, there's a ton and it's better the next day after the flavors meld. There will always be people begging for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States