Quinoa Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Great! I followed the recipe exactly, minus the yellow pepper, and we absolutely loved them! I don't eat beef so we usually just make burgers with pork, but this was much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
delicious and very filling cooked exactly like the recipe except for oats instead of bread crumbs im a big meat eater so was surprised how much i enjoyed them girlfriend thought they were a hit cant wait to try them with company :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I would make these again, but I would definitely tweak the recipe. I found it sort of dry. Also, I felt like the flavor profile was ruled by the cumin. I would probably play with the spices a bit to achieve a different flavor. And add something...to help the moisture even more. Zucchini maybe? I'll play with it. Still a good base to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LogicalKitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is an amazingly wonderful recipe. I made some of the modifications and loved it. Firstly, 1/2 cup of cooked quinoa; double the cumin; added ground old fashion oatmeal instead of breadcrumbs; added juice from one freshly squeezed lime (add more ground oatmeal so it's not mushy); chopped cilantro; doubled Franks RedHot; added some cayenne pepper and some Ya Ya B Greek seasoning. I also let it chill so it was easier to form patties. I heated olive oil in a pan and added the burger letting it get slightly brown on both sides. I whipped up Chipotle Mayo and put a dollop on top of the burger. Pan seared a tortilla and put the burger (formed it lengthwise) in the middle with sauteed spinach and cherry tomatoes and rolled it up. FANTASTIC....you can add whatever spices, herbs you like. There are endless options. I added 1 egg but next time may use flax seed. Just need adhesive to keep it together. This is the best bean burger recipe I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryk
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Very good, made the recipe as written, but served it with tomato & avocado slices with chipotle mayo on a boillo roll.The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is that I had a little trouble getting them to stay together. I may try substituting Oats for the breadcrumbs next time. I'm also debating using different kinds of beans in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
These veggie burgers are so much better than anything at any restaurant i've tried. Flavorful moist, healthy, they stay together and have great texture!! They're great the next day, too. The non-vegetarians and vegetarians in my family LOVE this recipe!! I've made this recipe twice in the past 3 weeks - they're a huge hit! Definitely one of our favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I have tried making black bean burgers before and they just fell apart. These stayed together like a true burger and they taste terrific. Even my skeptical husband was impressed! Only change was to add jalapeno because we like spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newmexcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Placitas, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I recently gave up soy and am also a vegetarian so I was searching for a recipe to make my own burgers and tried this one. UNBELIEVABLY delicious! Even my little girls are it up. I did make just a couple changes, I was trying to find a way to use my juicer pulp since I ALWAYS have it on hand from my daily drinks, so instead of yellow pepper I used 1/4 cup of carrot/celery pulp. You couldn't see it or taste it! I think I'll try adding more next time. I also minced up some mushrooms and added that too. After adding ingredients into my fitness pal it was only 117 calories each burger (I made 6). Can't wait to make a triple recipe and freeze some for quick easy meals. THANK YOU for this recipe! Oh yea, I cooked mine in my too-fancy-for-me convection microwave on the roast feature using a high rack for15 min each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I really liked this and so did my picky daughter! I used ground rolled oats instead of bread crumbs, egg substitute (Egg Beaters), and also mushrooms instead of bell pepper. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Martinez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States