Quinoa Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Great recipe- as some other reviewers mentioned, in order to make this vegan, I had to substitute the egg with chia seed paste (1 tbl spoon chia seed powder + 3 t/l spoons water blended). Also substituted oats for bread crumbs...husband went back for thirds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Delicious!! I cooked up some organic jasmine rice and ate it in a whole wheat wrap, with burger broken up inside. So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
These were SO much better than my other veggie burger recipes!!! I couldn't believe how well they held together, or how flavorful they were! I made them exactly as written, except that I substituted old-fashioned oats for the bread crumbs and omitted the egg, because the mixture was already pretty sticky. I also baked them at 400 degrees for 25 minutes on a lightly greased cookie sheet, turning them halfway through cooking-time, and I finished them off by topping them with almond cheddar and broiling them for 1 minute. I'm tossing out my old veggie burger recipes and replacing them with this one! Easy, good for you and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Tried this using steel cut oatmeal and egg whites. The burger did not hold together well, so I "cemented" it to the bun with a slice of Monterey Jack cheese. Very tasty. Will use whole egg and bread crumbs next time, just to see if the firmness improves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Made as written, baked at 375 for 25 min. Terrific recipe. Everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Hanna
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Oh my goodness! I made these just as said except I cooked the quinoa in chicken broth and omitted the hot sauce. These came out amazing!!!!! They are definitely my new obsession :) great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Quickish, and very delicious! Could give up burgers for these. Good with avocado, tomato, fresh spinach and BBQ sauce on a bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
These were AMAZING! My husband, 3 year old and 1.5 year old all. loved them! These are definitely going to be a staple in this vegetarian household. I did follow a previous persons suggestion and baked them at 400 for 30 minutes instead of frying. I made the recipe again and added cilantro and shredded carrot and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Very good. I did not have a bell pepper so I excluded that, and I minced an entire small onion. I made 4 fairly thick patties, so I upped the cook time a few minutes. All the patties stayed together nicely. I topped mine with sliced avocado and salsa and it was quite a delicious lunch. My 14 year old and 11 year old boys devoured theirs also. Served with sweet potato fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WarEagle72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Made this numerous times. Pretty much follow the recipe as is except I double it so I can freeze some for later. Change up the hot sauce (Sriracha is the best) and use whatever color pepper I have, although the yellow or orange are the best as they are more subtle than green or red. Started making these when we did a three week vegan challenge (did not use the egg) and have been making them ever since. I opt for these over a regular burger. Baking also is easier as they have less chance of falling apart. 400 degrees for 25 minutes and then broiler for a few minutes on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States