Quinoa Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I have made the recipe twice now and have learned a few things. Make sure to rinse and drain the beans very well, in order to help avoid soggy burgers. Use a good non-stick skillet so the burgers don't break into pieces as happened to me the first time when I tried to flip them. Sauté the garlic in a little olive oil 30 seconds or so (don't brown) to take the bite off a bit. I omitted the egg on the second attempt due to a vegan in our house and seemed not to negatively affect the burgers. The taste is good as is, but I think I'll experiment with subbing or adding other veggies and/or spices to the burgers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
These were good but i didn't want to fry them so i baked them but it wasn't the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Wow, followed the recipe exact. Hubby loved it, I loved it, even my 6 year old loved it! Only one problem.... Mine kept falling apart when I would flip them in the pan or move them. Any suggestions??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Even my picky husband and 3 year old son gobbled these up. They are amazing with a handful of chopped cilantro added to the mix, and topped with avocado and a squirt of lime juice. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Easy and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This is one of my new guilty pleasures. The caramelized onions take this over the top. I add different heat every time I make these. LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I am not a vegetarian at all, but I like to eat healthy. I bought some Morning star black bean burgers last week and they were tough when microwaved and kind of weird. I was looking around here and found this recipe. I rinsed and drained my black beans, patted them dry, used brown rice instead of quinoa, added 2 cloves of garlic, half a green pepper, a jalapeno, and half of an onion into a food processor then patted the excess water out. Added a small can of corn, cumin, siracha, 2 eggs, and Italian bread crumbs. formed into patties and let sit in the fridge until baking them at 400 for 15 minutes on each side. DELICIOUS! 100x better than store bought and all from stuff that I have on hand all of the time. Thank you for an excellent base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great way to use up leftover quinoa - wouldn't take the time with fresh. Make sure to add much more spices; frying with avocado oil tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Not bad for a quinoa burger. It was nice and moist through the burger. I would like to add more spices for some flavor. I used tomatoes instead of peppers and next time would consider adding feta, olives, artichokes, and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is my first attempt at a black bean burger and all I can say is WOW! I did as another reviewer did and baked at 400 for 25 minutes to cut down on oil. Next time I'll flip them to get them crisped on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States