Quinoa Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This is a great base, but I found it bland as is. Other than caramelizing red onions in coconut oil while the quinoa was cooking, I followed the recipe exactly, but after tasting it I increased the cardamom (I used 1/2 tsp ground; 1 pod = 1/6 tsp), added salt and 1/2 tsp garam masala, and added raisins. The raisins really gave the dish a needed punch. Once these changes were made, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
most certainly is a great way to combine veggies with a natural protein-rich grain. Needs more spices unless you're serving small young ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brigitte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Great and easy recipe. I used vegetable broth instead of water and add 3/4 cup of raisin. it adds a bit a sweet and flavour to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camilleod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is an amazing way to eat quinoa. I am trying to get more healthy quinoa in my diet but get tired of the simple quinoa-onion-beans combo or the add-it-to-soup. This is a super delicious, novel way to eat it! My fiance is from Bolivia, the land of of quinoa, and he loved it and said he had never had quinoa made this way before. I also added more spice and plenty of salt, as other readers commented, and I just used the vegetables I had on hand: corn instead peas, butternut squash cubed instead of broccoli or cauliflower, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I happen to love the indian basmati rice version of biryani but this recipe was SO BLAND! Very dissappointing. I've had quinoa in salads and love it but I didn't feel that it's a good base for a biryani. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by virgi
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I found it bland. I thought it was because it was my first time using cardamom and I didn't really know how to use it, but reading other reviews reassure me. I might try it again if somebody has a great suggestion for tweaking it. I was so excited about eating a good biryani that night...:-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I also found it bland and certainly would not put potato in it again as that didn't seem to match and was just another bland addition. I added craisins as I didn`t have raisins and that was slightly better but I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
pretty bland, I added some raisins and that helped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
very tasty! it does need some additional salt/pepper, but otherwise great flavoring! will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Just did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tapa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States