Quinoa Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Haven't tried this but suspect that the recipe should specify using a black cardamom pod. The green ones don't have the same flavour. This recipe seems to be for use as a side dish rather than as a complete meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
We loved it! Sadly, I had no cardamom, but substituted coriander. I can't wait to try the original version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Not worth the time and hassle. It was on the bland side with a slightly bitter aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I loved this! Great way to make a flavorful quinoa as a change of pace from rice. To give it a bit more flavor, simply trade out the water for vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I also found it bland and certainly would not put potato in it again as that didn't seem to match and was just another bland addition. I added craisins as I didn`t have raisins and that was slightly better but I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Just did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tapa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
The flavors just weren't strong enough. The more we ate the more the flavor grew, but it was pretty weak. I'd be tempted to add some other flavor, but I'm not sure what. Also, my potato dice may not have been small enough, but they didn't have enough time to cook before the water was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is an amazing way to eat quinoa. I am trying to get more healthy quinoa in my diet but get tired of the simple quinoa-onion-beans combo or the add-it-to-soup. This is a super delicious, novel way to eat it! My fiance is from Bolivia, the land of of quinoa, and he loved it and said he had never had quinoa made this way before. I also added more spice and plenty of salt, as other readers commented, and I just used the vegetables I had on hand: corn instead peas, butternut squash cubed instead of broccoli or cauliflower, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I happen to love the indian basmati rice version of biryani but this recipe was SO BLAND! Very dissappointing. I've had quinoa in salads and love it but I didn't feel that it's a good base for a biryani. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by virgi
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I found it bland. I thought it was because it was my first time using cardamom and I didn't really know how to use it, but reading other reviews reassure me. I might try it again if somebody has a great suggestion for tweaking it. I was so excited about eating a good biryani that night...:-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States