Quinoa, Beet, and Arugula Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Despite it's riotous pink color (which was a little off-putting to some of us), it was a great flavor combination. And very healthy. Needed a squeeze of lemon, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealisticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great recipe but way too much vinegar. Maybe it was my particular brand but used less than it called for and was waaaay too vinegar-y, and I love vinegar. Next time would maybe use balsamic instead since it has a more mild flavor. Definitely go easy on the dressing and you can always add more! Recipe is otherwise very forgiving, can use any ratio of salad mix, quinoa, and beets that you like! We used one giant glove of garlic and definitely leaves an aftertaste - don't overdo it there. Consider adding nuts like pistachios for a little more protien and texture. Also, the diced beets took over 20 min to steam for us and were still firm (but we used more quantity).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
this was so awesome.. i used white quinoa for the red.. left out the sugar and the goat cheese, halved the oil (and probably could have gone a little less), and quartered the salt.. all in hopes of making it just a bit lighter.. subbed spinach for arugula and used about half the amount b/c that's all i had left in the fridge.. i ran out of red wine vinegar half way through so i used balsamic for the rest.. didn't slice and peel the super huge beet i used prior to cooking.. i only cut it in half and put it directly in the steamer.. the peel is easier to remove after it's been cooked.. i topped mine with some additional pepper for that extra kick.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This salad is the best!!! It's my go-to salad for guests and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicante03
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Love this salad. I cut down on the vinegar a bit but it is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! Even my carnivore husband likes it. I use sheep's milk feta cheese instead of goat cheese, and I roast my beets (wrap in foil and bake at 425 F in oven for one hour, then turn off oven and let cool in oven) instead of steaming them. When I made this tonight I reduced the oil and vinegar to 1/3 cup each and reduced the sugar to 1 heaping teaspoon -- I think it came out even better this way than when I used the original dressing proportions. The salad also keeps well when there are leftovers. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Love this salad; have made it multiple times. The flavor is amazing. Used regular quinoa, more arugula, and less oil and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Love this salad!! A few changes..... no sugar, cut the red wine vinegar in half, topped it up with balsamic vinegar and did feta instead of goat cheese!! Total family favourite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is really delicious. I don't like arugula, so I just omitted it. I did half the olive oil and mixed the other half with water to make the cup with the red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Fantastic and so very pretty! We'd run out of red wine vinegar, so we used apple cider vinegar, which was good. I could see adding some nuts (walnuts or sunflower seeds). Added salmon to the top, the buttery, rich fish flavor went very nicely with the salad. Thanks for the great recipe. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States