Quinoa, Beet, and Arugula Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I love this salad. It is so fresh tasting and the combination of flavors only taste better as they marry. Because there's only two of us I add the arugula as we eat it. I usually put the arugula on the plate with the beet mixture on top. I've found that balsamic vinegar is a better choice for the dressing as it has a more earthy flavor that works well with the beets. I usually use 1/2 lavender infused balsamic with a good Modena and the dressing is out of this world. I find the infused vinegars are too strong to use alone without cutting it half and half. I use 1/3 cup olive oil instead of 1/2. I steam the beets and use the water left over with all the beet juices to cook the quinoa. I don't want to waste those vitamins. Sometimes we eat this salad alone for a great light vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn Adamson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Added some diced dates and added a sweetness contrast to the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Excellent. This was delicious and easy. I will absolutely make this again. Very flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Despite it's riotous pink color (which was a little off-putting to some of us), it was a great flavor combination. And very healthy. Needed a squeeze of lemon, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealisticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great recipe but way too much vinegar. Maybe it was my particular brand but used less than it called for and was waaaay too vinegar-y, and I love vinegar. Next time would maybe use balsamic instead since it has a more mild flavor. Definitely go easy on the dressing and you can always add more! Recipe is otherwise very forgiving, can use any ratio of salad mix, quinoa, and beets that you like! We used one giant glove of garlic and definitely leaves an aftertaste - don't overdo it there. Consider adding nuts like pistachios for a little more protien and texture. Also, the diced beets took over 20 min to steam for us and were still firm (but we used more quantity).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
this was so awesome.. i used white quinoa for the red.. left out the sugar and the goat cheese, halved the oil (and probably could have gone a little less), and quartered the salt.. all in hopes of making it just a bit lighter.. subbed spinach for arugula and used about half the amount b/c that's all i had left in the fridge.. i ran out of red wine vinegar half way through so i used balsamic for the rest.. didn't slice and peel the super huge beet i used prior to cooking.. i only cut it in half and put it directly in the steamer.. the peel is easier to remove after it's been cooked.. i topped mine with some additional pepper for that extra kick.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This salad is the best!!! It's my go-to salad for guests and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicante03
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Love this salad. I cut down on the vinegar a bit but it is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! Even my carnivore husband likes it. I use sheep's milk feta cheese instead of goat cheese, and I roast my beets (wrap in foil and bake at 425 F in oven for one hour, then turn off oven and let cool in oven) instead of steaming them. When I made this tonight I reduced the oil and vinegar to 1/3 cup each and reduced the sugar to 1 heaping teaspoon -- I think it came out even better this way than when I used the original dressing proportions. The salad also keeps well when there are leftovers. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Love this salad; have made it multiple times. The flavor is amazing. Used regular quinoa, more arugula, and less oil and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States