Quince Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I gave only 4 stars because I made a few adjustments. I took others advice and omitted the pectin. My jelly set up nicely without it. Also, I added more water than called for, more like 8 cups and mashed the fruit as they cooked. I then strained the fruit and water mush through cheesecloth and a sieve. After those steps, I followed the recipe to the letter. It looks and tastes lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Excellent its the 1st time i've done it and its perfect, well done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leenie & Dee
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
We've been making this jelly for 5 years. We add a piece of cinnamon bark to the final boil and remove it after the jelly is ready for the jars. It's a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leenie & Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Good receipe clearer jelly comes out if you don't squezze the cheese cloth Just let it drip out maybe even over night. You can also make jam with quince if you chop up the fruit small and prepare like normal marmalade but you must peel first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doctors Inlet, Florida, USA
Living In: Duisburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious. The quinces were way too sour to eat alone. I used pectin to err on the side of caution and the jelly turned out just right. I'm not certain why someone who has not made this recipe felt it necessary to make a negative comment when the jelly is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
my grandmother always made quince jelly and it was my favorite. i can't find it anywhere in stores. her recipe did not use pectin either, and the sugar was a little less than the same volume of quince juice after being boiled and squeezed through muslin, so 4 cups of juice would be a scant 4 cups of sugar. i love this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I did not even know what quince was until some one gave me a sack full --tried this recipe and every one raved about it--of course I took all the credit.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
No need to add pectin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
You don't really need to add pectin to quince jelly. Quince is tart enough that it supplies its own pectin. Just put the same amount of sugar in as you have liquid from cooking the quinces and cook to the jelly point. I think I'd simmer the quinces a little longer, too, and it looks to me like there ought to be more water. Quince/apple jelly is really delicious. Just substitute half of the quince liquid with pure apple juice. I would like to add, also, that there are two kinds of quince. There are the quince from a tree that grows approximately 10 feet tall. They look like a cross between an apple and a pear. The quince that grows on a short red-flowering bush are less tasty and, in my experience, are mostly seed and not all that pleasant to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I have not tried this recipe yet, but one can eat a quince raw. I used to eat them sprinkled with salt as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States