Quince Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Leenie & Dee
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
We've been making this jelly for 5 years. We add a piece of cinnamon bark to the final boil and remove it after the jelly is ready for the jars. It's a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leenie & Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious. The quinces were way too sour to eat alone. I used pectin to err on the side of caution and the jelly turned out just right. I'm not certain why someone who has not made this recipe felt it necessary to make a negative comment when the jelly is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Excellent its the 1st time i've done it and its perfect, well done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Good receipe clearer jelly comes out if you don't squezze the cheese cloth Just let it drip out maybe even over night. You can also make jam with quince if you chop up the fruit small and prepare like normal marmalade but you must peel first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doctors Inlet, Florida, USA
Living In: Duisburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Works well and is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Finally! A recipe for the sweet little Quince tree the owner of the home before us left us. Last fall, I had no idea what to do with the quince - and the sweet smell of a quince can be deceiving! (I, too, found it tart - after a huge bite!) What a perfect way to cook up my quince and enjoy them all year long. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I did not even know what quince was until some one gave me a sack full --tried this recipe and every one raved about it--of course I took all the credit.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I gave only 4 stars because I made a few adjustments. I took others advice and omitted the pectin. My jelly set up nicely without it. Also, I added more water than called for, more like 8 cups and mashed the fruit as they cooked. I then strained the fruit and water mush through cheesecloth and a sieve. After those steps, I followed the recipe to the letter. It looks and tastes lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
my grandmother always made quince jelly and it was my favorite. i can't find it anywhere in stores. her recipe did not use pectin either, and the sugar was a little less than the same volume of quince juice after being boiled and squeezed through muslin, so 4 cups of juice would be a scant 4 cups of sugar. i love this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Actually you are not quite correct. Quince is wonderful eaten raw. Growing up in Germany it was a great summer treat for us kids. Yes, quince is quite tart, and it has a texture even grainier than pears. But it is delicious even raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States