Quickie French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dee hart
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
We loved this recipe!!!! I didn't have chicken broth so I just used all beef broth and it was amazing! We are going to prep it and let it simmer on the crock pot next time for four hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee hart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Delicious easy to make soup. Next time I make it I will 1 or 2 more onions as I like lots of onions, though the basic recipe was very good with only 1 onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Very easy to make. Whole family loved it. I left out garlic, but may try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Very good and simple I added a 1/2 cup white wine during simmer. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Quick and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
5 stars for my husband's raves alone! LOL. French Onion is his favorite soup and he had TWO bowls of this for dinner. Slight changes to the original recipe on my part. I put in 2 onions, used 1/2 tsp black pepper, 3 tblsp butter, did not fry garlic and used low sodium non-fat broths. With health issues, I had to bring sodium way down. Thanks so much for this recipe. He's already informed me I'll be making this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Yum. I added an additional onion and followed other's suggestions and added 1 tsp of worcestershire sauce and 2 tbsp of sherry cooking wine. Fanastic! My kids love onion soup and I haven't found a recipe I've truly enjoyed, until now. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Have made this four times now and have received rave reviews each time. Only adjustment I made was adding 1/3 cup of cabernet savignon to the broth. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Quick(ish) and easy. The longer you let the onions caramelize the better, of course - up to an hour (but it just requires patience, not much attention). I replaced the beef broth with cooking sherry, though if I had beef broth on hand, I think it would have been more authentic. I am going to try this on my mother - wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
My boyfriend and I LOVED this soup. I used about 1/2 tsp of garlic powder rather than fresh garlic and low sodium beef broth and it just turned out fantastic. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States