Quickie French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I came looking for a recipe that used au jus because I had some left over from making the "French Dip Sandwiches" also found on this site. I will look no further! I replaced the beef broth and the au jus packet called for in this recipe with the leftover au jus from the crockpot recipe. It was a little salty, but I think that's because I used regular soy sauce instead of reduced sodium. I'll fix that next time and I expect it will be perfect! My best friend and I loved this, and my husband even took to it and he's never really cared for French onion soup. SO YUMMY, and you'll have two delicious meals with minimal preparation! THanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLICAT2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Very Good!! I used 4 14.5oz cans of broth(2 of each) and added 1 cup of mushrooms when I sauted the onions. Also added 1 cup of white wine. Au Jus packet gives it a great flavor, also added a dash of worsheshire sauce. Next time I'll try it in a crock-pot. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This was fantastic! My husband liked it better than our favorite restaurant version. It was so easy and fast, we will definately make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
So much flavor! I loved it! I added 1 cup Mushrooms to the large green onion while being sautéed. Plus 2 Tbsp of cooking Sherry and a dash of Worcestershire sauce to the soup mixture. I thought this turned out very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DYANNA11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This is the quickest and best french onion soup I've ever tasted! I add 5 soup cans of water to bring down the sodium level and add 2 Tbls. of cooking sherry or you can use white wine vinegar! it's a very good recipe and very good tasting! I use croutons and mozzarella and provolone cheese to top it of in the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlmn801

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ColleenK
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I did a couple things different than the recipe. I didn't fry fresh garlic I just used pre-minced garlic out of a jar. I used a beef bouillon cube with the suggested amount of water. I also used low sodium chicken broth. Next time I am going to use more onions then the recipe calls for. I made croutons with the "Garlic croutons" recipe on this site. I made them pretty big for a nice covering for the soup. My taste-tester is a big onion soup fan and he gave it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
great soup i altered it a bit by adding one cup water to take salty taste away and when i caramelized my onion rings i added brown sugar i also used squeezed garlic instead of fresh and minced up more onions with it to get it brown later you could also bake it in the oven on 350 for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I got rave reviews when I made this. Easy to make and I was able to monitor sodium level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Kudos to the poster of this recipe! This was the absolute BEST French Onion Soup I've ever had . . . The au jus was just magnificent. The cheese was delicious. My fiance loved it. My neighbor even ate some. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
My dad makes the best French Onion Soup that takes ALL DAY LONG. I have very high expectations of what this soup is suppose to taste like. IT WAS AMAZING. I made it exactly the way the recipe said. Everyone that says its too salty, I think is crazy. It had so much flavor! And flavor is what makes it good! I will be making this many times in the future! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States