Quickie French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Very Good!! I used 4 14.5oz cans of broth(2 of each) and added 1 cup of mushrooms when I sauted the onions. Also added 1 cup of white wine. Au Jus packet gives it a great flavor, also added a dash of worsheshire sauce. Next time I'll try it in a crock-pot. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This recipe was ok. It was extemely salty. Also, preparing the garlic was a bit of a pain. If you are looking to make a better "quickie" french onion soup, combine a can of condensed french onion soup mix undiluted with a packet of dry onion soup/dip mix and add water and/or beef or chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This was fantastic! My husband liked it better than our favorite restaurant version. It was so easy and fast, we will definately make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I came looking for a recipe that used au jus because I had some left over from making the "French Dip Sandwiches" also found on this site. I will look no further! I replaced the beef broth and the au jus packet called for in this recipe with the leftover au jus from the crockpot recipe. It was a little salty, but I think that's because I used regular soy sauce instead of reduced sodium. I'll fix that next time and I expect it will be perfect! My best friend and I loved this, and my husband even took to it and he's never really cared for French onion soup. SO YUMMY, and you'll have two delicious meals with minimal preparation! THanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLICAT2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Thought I would try this soup as I start eating real food again. This was so so salty that I couldn't eat but half of the bowl. It is 2 hours later and I am craving water! I quartered the recipe and this was pretty good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
WHen I first made this recipe I thought it was really salty. I tried low salt/low fat broth. Now it tastes great and is better for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This wasn't a bad base French onion soup. I did change it a little. I omitted the garlic because I was out. I found that it was really salty so I diluted the mixture a little with 1 of the empty broth cans of water and added about 2 tablespoons of sugar. Turned out great with awesome reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
So much flavor! I loved it! I added 1 cup Mushrooms to the large green onion while being sautéed. Plus 2 Tbsp of cooking Sherry and a dash of Worcestershire sauce to the soup mixture. I thought this turned out very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DYANNA11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This is the quickest and best french onion soup I've ever tasted! I add 5 soup cans of water to bring down the sodium level and add 2 Tbls. of cooking sherry or you can use white wine vinegar! it's a very good recipe and very good tasting! I use croutons and mozzarella and provolone cheese to top it of in the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlmn801

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ColleenK
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I did a couple things different than the recipe. I didn't fry fresh garlic I just used pre-minced garlic out of a jar. I used a beef bouillon cube with the suggested amount of water. I also used low sodium chicken broth. Next time I am going to use more onions then the recipe calls for. I made croutons with the "Garlic croutons" recipe on this site. I made them pretty big for a nice covering for the soup. My taste-tester is a big onion soup fan and he gave it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States