Quickie French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Super good.... you don't need the au jus mix it makes it a little too salty...Added 1/4 cup or more of red wine for a great taste. Also added 3-4 cloves of minced garlic. If no oven safe bowls are available you can just put the cheese on top of the soup and microwave it in separate bowls. Very tasty and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
really good, however a small serving is enough to hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
My dad makes the best French Onion Soup that takes ALL DAY LONG. I have very high expectations of what this soup is suppose to taste like. IT WAS AMAZING. I made it exactly the way the recipe said. Everyone that says its too salty, I think is crazy. It had so much flavor! And flavor is what makes it good! I will be making this many times in the future! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Kudos to the poster of this recipe! This was the absolute BEST French Onion Soup I've ever had . . . The au jus was just magnificent. The cheese was delicious. My fiance loved it. My neighbor even ate some. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I got rave reviews when I made this. Easy to make and I was able to monitor sodium level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This turned out delicious but too salty. I did not make exactly as stated because I could not find au jus gravy mix anywhere in the grocery stores. I tried to make my own au jus gravy mix. I sauted minced onions in butter and then added some flour to coat onions and slightly thicken au jus. I then added beef broth, cooking sherry and worcestshire sauce. I know that au jus is made from beef drippings but since I didn't have any this was my best alternative / guess. I also substitued the croutons for toasted french bread slices and used provolone cheese instead of swiss. Next time I make I will use low sodium broth and it was way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was really good and very easy to make. Ny husband who doesn't like to eat soup because it doesn't fill him up didn't even eat his salad. He was too full, I guess this one is very satisfying. I'll make this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seana Hon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
The problem with this recipe is that it calls for CONDENSED broth WITH NO WATER TO DILUTE IT. Try swapping regular broth (not condensed) and it will be FAR less salty (or better yet, use low-sodium broth and add salt yourself to taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
slower is always better but this is the Best "fast" French Onion soup recipe ive tryed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Winfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
great soup i altered it a bit by adding one cup water to take salty taste away and when i caramelized my onion rings i added brown sugar i also used squeezed garlic instead of fresh and minced up more onions with it to get it brown later you could also bake it in the oven on 350 for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States