Quick and Super Easy Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Like others, I used real chicken breast. I boiled 4 breast for 30 minutes, removed the breast and let them cool a bit. While the chicken was cooling I sauteed carrots, celery and onion in a little olive oil. I then added the veggies to the water that the chicken was boiled in, along with the cut up chicken. I used the canned biscuits, tearing them into fourths. I had to add a little chicken broth after adding the dumplings. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by innkeeperHC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Such a great easy recipe! I took advice from reviews and added carrots, onions, celery, corn and garlic! I used my own chicken and this fantastic dish turned into a chicken dumpling soup! Love it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
my family loved this. i just had a baby and this was super easy to make for the now 5 of us. i sauteed onion with carrot first, but would love to add celery next time. I did have frozen mixed veggies and threw those in. I also used the fridge biscuits for extra simplicity and was not disappointed at all. I have always loved chick n dumplins but never realized how simple they were to create! one of these days when i have more energy i will use fresh chicken, but for now even the canned tastes good in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREAD HEADEd fool

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Looking for comfort food and this was great! I did add frozen veggies and pepper. The dough was sticky, but it turn out great! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was amazing!! I added a little can of mixed vegetables and a can of cream of chicken soup to make it a little thicker and a a little bit of onion powder and garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I love how easy and tasty this is, and it makes for fantastic leftovers. The only thing I would recommend is cooking the dumplings longer, the first time I made it they were a little doughy still on this inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This was a good base for knowing how to make the dumplings, as I had never done that before, but I improvised on the soup part. Homemade chicken stock, cut up cooked chicken breasts, carrots, celery, onion, parsley, garlic powder made for a yummy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Photo by MasterGrillAZ
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I rated 4 stars, not because the end result I made wasn't good, but because had I not tweaked like others and included some chopped carrots, celery, onion, garlic, and tarragon, it would have been decidedly bland. Adding the extra items didn't really add any time to the meal over all, as I just did the dicing first, and made the dough while the pot was working up to a boil. All the kids liked it, and they are picky eaters. Most importantly, the wife liked it, and she grew up eating this stuff in NC from a family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Great basic recipe but WAY too salty. Next time I will use fresh chicken (not canned) and lower sodium chicken broth. It's also great for kids to help with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristykk
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Very good & very easy, got raves from Hubby too. I used the Dumplings recipe from this site and added 1/3 c. onion puree, 3 small zucchinis, and about 10 baby carrots, diced. Topped it off with a little pepper, thyme, sage, poultry season and it was perfecto. Quick, healthy comfort food, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States