Quick and Super Easy Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I was originally planning on making chicken in dumplings in the slow cooker, but all of a sudden it was too late. The BF insisted he still have his chicken and dumplings, so I looked for a quick recipe. I boiled/poached my chicken breasts in broth, then removed the chicken. I brought the broth back to a boil and added refrigerated biscuit dough (someone recommended using Grands Buttermilk specifically), following the recipe more as a timing guide. I simmered the 'dumplings' and cubed my chicken breasts, then added back in about halfway through. I added a little dried onion, onion powder (I'm a fan of onion), parsley flakes, garlic powder, and a little black pepper. It tasted a bit store bought, but that doesn't mean it wasn't delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sldavis86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Great short cut for comfort food on a work night! I used boneless chicken breast instead of canned chicken (about 6 small cutlets I had on hand, I cooked them in a skillet first) and about 6 cups of broth will do it (I used 2 32-ounce boxes and it was MORE than enough!). I also mixed about 1/4 cup of Bisquik right in the broth to thicken it up. I set the table with the caveat "This will be the worst Chicken and Dumplings dinner EVER." but everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
So the chicken I laid out ended up having freezer burn, so I had to come up with something quick. We had been out of town and I didn't have much in the pantry and no meat in the freezer. Looking through everything I found a 10oz can of chicken breast. I put that in Google and found this recipe. I knew I had Bisquick, milk and 1 can of chicken broth. I also had a can of cream of chicken soup, carrots, celery, onion, and spices. I improvised. I used all of the above. First I sauted the veggies and chicken in butter. I added onion salt, garlic powder and pepper. I added both cans of soup. I filled the cream soup can up with water 2 times to give more juice. Then did everything else the same. My whole family (husband and 4 kids) LOVED it! We only had enough for each person to have 1 serving and they were bummed. They told me to make it exactly the same again but double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Super easy comfort food! So easy, my husband whipped this up and it was delicious. Serve with a leafy salad to lighten this heavy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
not so good.....sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I've used this recipe a couple of times. Not the best I've had but good when you want to make something fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
The canned chicken flavor is undeniable and the dumplings were just not dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This was extremely easy and VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This recipe was easy and my husband liked it. It is like chicken pot pie without the pie! I thought I had broth, but did not, so I used condensed cream of chicken with water. I sauteed onions and carrots before adding the broth and cubed chicken breast. After it was boiling, I added frozen peas. My only problem was my Bisquick dough was very sticky. (Maybe it needed more milk.) It was very hard to work with and most of it stuck to my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I grew up on my grandmother's chicken and dumpling - the same recipe she learned from her grandmother. It would be really hard for me to duplicate the whole thing, and I've been searching for a good substitute for a while now. This one is awesome! I was a little skeptical about the amount of broth not being enough but it turned out just right. We will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States