Quick and Super Easy Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I made this one evening and I have to admit it was super easy and delicious. I made it again and it was a disaster (I think we can chalk that up to chef's error), and have therefore been afraid to make it again! Oops! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was an awesome recipe. So quick and so easy. I did add frozen carrots that I cooked slightly at the bottom of the pan with minced garlic and olive oil.. then followed the recipe exactly. This is definitely going to be made by me often this winter.. Thanks much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I have been making biscuit mix dumplings for years. I also try to keep my dough moist and just drop it from a spoon into the simmering water (push it off the spoon with my finger..lol). I think it makes a softer, melt-in-your mouth dumpling. My recipe is: In a stockpot: 1 can of cream of chicken soup, 1 can of broth, a tbsp of butter, dash of milk. Then I add a lot of water-about 4-6 cups (up to half of the tall pot)? Whisk all together, bring to boil, reduce to low-to-med boil. Dumplings are 2 cups biscuit mix, 1 cup milk - mix very well, drop into mixture about a rounded tsp at a time. I lightly press down the floating dumplings just to where the broth coats them as they cook. Helps them to cook faster. (I don't stir much during the dumpling phase, dropping them into the places where the bubbles come up the most and leave them alone for a couple mins to firm up.) Add one small can chicken (or your own cooked chicken) near the last of cooking time as it starts to stick to the bottom of the stock pot near the end when everything gets thick. Make sure the last dumplings in cook at least ten minutes. Some of these dumplings disintegrate, but we love this so much. I have a very picky eater, so no veggies added to this one (salad is an optional side when I serve this). I do add lots of pepper and taste for needed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is a great recipe. My husband was home sick with a stomach virus and this was perfect. I also sauted some onion, fresh garlic, and celery then added my broth. I also used 2 can's of plain chicken broth and 2 can's of roasted garlic chicken broth. Before adding my dough I added a little milk to the broth for a creamier gravy. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Delicious, easy, and yummy. Perfect if you're in a hurry, also great for comfort food. Next time I'll be making it w/my own cooked chicken, but the canned chicken isn't horrible. Easy for a toddler to chew too. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
My sister and I made this but it didn't come out as expected. I think we may have left it in the pot for too long because all of the juice was sucked into the dough. It still tastes pretty good though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberlou

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was a great recipe! The only thing I changed was sauteing onions celery and carrots in the pan before I started the recipe. I also added a little extra broth since I had added those extra ingredients. This was delicious and so easy! My husband said it was the best chicken and dumplings he ever ate. It is also very pretty in the pan as it cooks. My husband kept sneaking peeks at it and telling me how much he couldn't wait to try it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samplfamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I have not used this particular recipe, but I can tell you that Bisquick dumplings are amazing and so easy; I have been making them most of my adult life. They are my comfort food, and can be made as a quick meal or snack with little effort or cleanup. Most of the time, I do not use more than just the broth when making them. I like having enough broth that I get a creamy soupy like gravy in the end. One thing I do when I make the dumplings is drop the dough off a spoon like when making drop biscuits rather than flattening them as in this recipe. Another thing is do not be tempted to add salt until they are done and you have tasted them, there is plenty in just the Bisquick mix and the broth. If you have dumplings left over, remove them from the liquid when you put them in the refrigerator and they will not get hard and will have a better texture the next day. If you have the broth mixture leftover, save it or freeze it to make soup or something like that later. It is too good to throw out. I like to put frozen Grandma’s Egg Noodles in the broth mixture. Enjoy, from a first time reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NVRayn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elko, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
OMG! This was so delicious! The only thing I did different was sauteed a small onion & 2 stalks of celery in 2 TBS. butter. Next time, I will double the ingredients. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Delicious, delicious deliciousness. I used a large 49OZ can of broth, a 25OZ can of chicken and a can of Pilsbury biscuit dough. I sauteed some onions, carrots, dill and garlic and put it in the boiling broth before I added everything else. All it needed in the end was a tiny pinch of salt. Thank you,Busymommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States