Quick and Super Easy Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was so easy and absolutely delicious. I did add a bit of butter to the pot to melt before adding the chicken stock and then I also added a can of peas and carrots. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for something quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
When I read the recipe I was a bit skeptical. And it didn't seem like 2 cans of chicken stock was enough. But I followed the recipe to the letter and it was OUTSTANDING!!!! This recipe is so good. My 5 year old loved it and even asked for seconds!! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I added a can of crm chix and frozen pea/carrots. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is an excellent, quick recipe. You should try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
My husband was sick and wanted some chicken and dumplings. My mother-in-law ALWAYS makes us chicken and dumplings when we are sick. So I found this recipe and made it since I never made chicken and dumplings before. We thought it was pretty good. I added some carrots and celery and onions to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
We are from the south and don't put veggies, etc. in our dumplin's, we would consider that a stew. Lotsa dumplins and that yummy chicken flavor is what we like. The only thing I did different was add a little poultry seasoning and a whole can of 10 hungry jacks flattened and torn into small pieces (I have trouble with the bisquick thing sometimes). Not as good as granny's, but real darn close and wonderful considering time and amount of ingredients - THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I made this one evening and I have to admit it was super easy and delicious. I made it again and it was a disaster (I think we can chalk that up to chef's error), and have therefore been afraid to make it again! Oops! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was an awesome recipe. So quick and so easy. I did add frozen carrots that I cooked slightly at the bottom of the pan with minced garlic and olive oil.. then followed the recipe exactly. This is definitely going to be made by me often this winter.. Thanks much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I have been making biscuit mix dumplings for years. I also try to keep my dough moist and just drop it from a spoon into the simmering water (push it off the spoon with my finger..lol). I think it makes a softer, melt-in-your mouth dumpling. My recipe is: In a stockpot: 1 can of cream of chicken soup, 1 can of broth, a tbsp of butter, dash of milk. Then I add a lot of water-about 4-6 cups (up to half of the tall pot)? Whisk all together, bring to boil, reduce to low-to-med boil. Dumplings are 2 cups biscuit mix, 1 cup milk - mix very well, drop into mixture about a rounded tsp at a time. I lightly press down the floating dumplings just to where the broth coats them as they cook. Helps them to cook faster. (I don't stir much during the dumpling phase, dropping them into the places where the bubbles come up the most and leave them alone for a couple mins to firm up.) Add one small can chicken (or your own cooked chicken) near the last of cooking time as it starts to stick to the bottom of the stock pot near the end when everything gets thick. Make sure the last dumplings in cook at least ten minutes. Some of these dumplings disintegrate, but we love this so much. I have a very picky eater, so no veggies added to this one (salad is an optional side when I serve this). I do add lots of pepper and taste for needed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is a great recipe. My husband was home sick with a stomach virus and this was perfect. I also sauted some onion, fresh garlic, and celery then added my broth. I also used 2 can's of plain chicken broth and 2 can's of roasted garlic chicken broth. Before adding my dough I added a little milk to the broth for a creamier gravy. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States