Quick and Spicy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This chili is great! I guess the only thing is my husband can't handle really spicy food, so I wish I hadn't added the Habanero. But other than that its great. I added quite a bit of water. It was a little too thick for me to stir good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I made this the first time I ever made chili and followed the recipe completely (omitting the habanero). It was so good I won a chili cookoff at work with it. Since then I've made it twice more, substituting in 1 lb of Italian Sausage and it's been fabulous every time. It could probably be renamed "Quick and Easy Spicy Chili. My thanks to Emily H. for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This recipe was awesome. I used turkey instead of ground beef and added extra kidney beans. I used hot peppers from the farmers market. i know at least one of them was a habanero. The others Im not sure of. I made this EXTRA spicy and it still had great flavor. I seasoned the meat witht the chili powder and some sea salt. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
very good. i omitted the corn on prefrence and added a dash of texas petes hot sauce and another of taliptio and it gave it a nice spice. was a good dinner served with crackers and fruit. i will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
YUM! I used black beans instead and added 1 tsp each of coriander and oregano. I could eat this every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
GREAT RECIPE! I absolutely loved it, made it for my husband's lunches but I couldn't stay out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This Chili is by far the easiest and best recipe for chili I have made. My whole family and guests thought it was the best. Wouldn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brillion, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was delicious! I had to tweak it a bit for the ingredients I had on hand. I used 1 can kidney beans and 1 can black beans. I only used 3 tbsp of chili powder. I used a yellow onion instead of red. I cut out the flour and peppers. I used garlic powder instead of whole garlic and frozen corn instead of canned. Also, I added 1 can of stewed tomatoes because I am a tomato freak. It turned out so perfect! This is my new go to chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as written. (Well, to be precise, the package of ground beef I used was 2.01 lb.) The beef used was 90% lean, the beans were light red kidney beans, and the black pepper was freshly ground. I also opted for the habanero and the sugar. I cooked the chili for only 45 minutes (the low end of the range given in the recipe) because I was really hungry. This was also the first time I'd ever cooked with both masa harina flour, and a fresh habanero. I thought this chili was okay, but I guess I'll only give it a 3-star rating because the competition is fierce in the chili-recipe world. Corn is not a common ingredient in chili, and though I like corn in general, I would've rather it hadn't been in this chili. On the other hand, the masa harina made the chili somewhat thick, which is a plus in my book, since I hate watery chili. The chili had a somewhat undesirable sweetness to it, so if I make this again, I wouldn't add the "2 tsp. white sugar" after all. Lastly, I used my new electric chopper (not quite a full-fledged food processor) for the first time, and with only a few "pulse"s, the vegetables were pretty finely chopped. Next time I would chop or mince the veggies by hand, since I prefer chili to have a little chunkiness to it, vegetable-wise. In summary, this chili was decent, pretty meaty, and fairly hot with the added habanero. I think I will make another batch of this, since I have the other half of the red onion left, and with the changes mentioned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I've never made a good pot of chili - till I found this recipe. Now my husband wants chili every week! He LOVES this recipe. I made it and he called his brother to come over and try some cause it was so good! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States