Quick and Spicy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This recipe was awesome. I used turkey instead of ground beef and added extra kidney beans. I used hot peppers from the farmers market. i know at least one of them was a habanero. The others Im not sure of. I made this EXTRA spicy and it still had great flavor. I seasoned the meat witht the chili powder and some sea salt. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
very good. i omitted the corn on prefrence and added a dash of texas petes hot sauce and another of taliptio and it gave it a nice spice. was a good dinner served with crackers and fruit. i will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
YUM! I used black beans instead and added 1 tsp each of coriander and oregano. I could eat this every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
GREAT RECIPE! I absolutely loved it, made it for my husband's lunches but I couldn't stay out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This Chili is by far the easiest and best recipe for chili I have made. My whole family and guests thought it was the best. Wouldn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brillion, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was delicious! I had to tweak it a bit for the ingredients I had on hand. I used 1 can kidney beans and 1 can black beans. I only used 3 tbsp of chili powder. I used a yellow onion instead of red. I cut out the flour and peppers. I used garlic powder instead of whole garlic and frozen corn instead of canned. Also, I added 1 can of stewed tomatoes because I am a tomato freak. It turned out so perfect! This is my new go to chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as written. (Well, to be precise, the package of ground beef I used was 2.01 lb.) The beef used was 90% lean, the beans were light red kidney beans, and the black pepper was freshly ground. I also opted for the habanero and the sugar. I cooked the chili for only 45 minutes (the low end of the range given in the recipe) because I was really hungry. This was also the first time I'd ever cooked with both masa harina flour, and a fresh habanero. I thought this chili was okay, but I guess I'll only give it a 3-star rating because the competition is fierce in the chili-recipe world. Corn is not a common ingredient in chili, and though I like corn in general, I would've rather it hadn't been in this chili. On the other hand, the masa harina made the chili somewhat thick, which is a plus in my book, since I hate watery chili. The chili had a somewhat undesirable sweetness to it, so if I make this again, I wouldn't add the "2 tsp. white sugar" after all. Lastly, I used my new electric chopper (not quite a full-fledged food processor) for the first time, and with only a few "pulse"s, the vegetables were pretty finely chopped. Next time I would chop or mince the veggies by hand, since I prefer chili to have a little chunkiness to it, vegetable-wise. In summary, this chili was decent, pretty meaty, and fairly hot with the added habanero. I think I will make another batch of this, since I have the other half of the red onion left, and with the changes mentioned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I've never made a good pot of chili - till I found this recipe. Now my husband wants chili every week! He LOVES this recipe. I made it and he called his brother to come over and try some cause it was so good! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I scaled this recipe to 8 servings. Used 1/2 lb ground sausage in place of 1/2 pound of ground beef. I followed the recipe as stated except for the jalapeno or habanero peppers. I was concerned to would be too spicy for some of the kids eating dinner with us. I did serve the peppers on the side for those to add to their bowls. I felt the chili was very thick. I kept adding water every 15 minutes to try and thin the sauce some. Next time I may add an additional can of tomato sauce. It definitely had some heat even without the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misymiss
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This chili is really good. I have never done chili before and Hubby liked it. I did not add the habanero peppers because they are toooo hot and I did not have flour but added cornstarch later realizing it that I shouldn't of have used it because it was so thick so i ended putting another cup of water to it. Besides that Thanks for this recipes it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misymiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Montebello, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States