Quick and Spicy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by keithvh
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I just signed up on the website and this is the first recipe I made. I couldn't find a habanero at the store I went to so I didn't put one in it. Instead of a fresh jalapeno I used a jar of "sweet and hot" jalapenos which worked out awesome. It still gave the heat, but also added to the sweetness of the chili. This chili is awesome, I just wish I had the habanero because I love it as spicy and hot as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This Chili was good but SUPER SPICY! Everyone's lips at my dinner party were burning, lol! Next time I will use 1 tablespoon of Cayanne pepper instead of three! It was hard to taste the flovors over the spicyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Chili with a reasonable kick but still tolerable. If you don't like spicy foods you may want to omit the habenero or find a different recipe. I didn't have any masa harina so I used half a cup less water, also used a little less meat and did half pink beans-- I think the sugar is a fine addition. Also the recipe is beyond easy to do and pretty much impossible to mess up (like most chilis) so if you can't cook, impress people with this! My only word of a advice for novices (like me), however, is be careful with the peppers! They will leave your hands burning if you don't take necessary precautions. (i.e don't touch them with your hands (and God forbid youch your hands to your eyes...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Yummmm, this is the best Chili recipe I've ever come across, delicious if you like it a little spicy. I left out the corn, but still tasted great. My husband couldn't stop eating it for a week. We love spice so I put in 1.5 habanero chilis and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
My boyfriend and I absolutely love love love this recipe! So easy and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This chili is fabulous! We love the combo of the masa harina flour with the heat of the peppers. It gives just the right balance to both flavors. We've used serrano peppers as well to add more of a smoky flavor. Always a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This chili is great! I guess the only thing is my husband can't handle really spicy food, so I wish I hadn't added the Habanero. But other than that its great. I added quite a bit of water. It was a little too thick for me to stir good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I made this the first time I ever made chili and followed the recipe completely (omitting the habanero). It was so good I won a chili cookoff at work with it. Since then I've made it twice more, substituting in 1 lb of Italian Sausage and it's been fabulous every time. It could probably be renamed "Quick and Easy Spicy Chili. My thanks to Emily H. for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This recipe was awesome. I used turkey instead of ground beef and added extra kidney beans. I used hot peppers from the farmers market. i know at least one of them was a habanero. The others Im not sure of. I made this EXTRA spicy and it still had great flavor. I seasoned the meat witht the chili powder and some sea salt. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
very good. i omitted the corn on prefrence and added a dash of texas petes hot sauce and another of taliptio and it gave it a nice spice. was a good dinner served with crackers and fruit. i will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States