Quick and Simple Broccoli and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
It was good but I tweaked it a bit. I used fresh broccoli and steamed it, and since I didn't have butter I used lemon juice instead while it was steaming, then instead of the microwave I broiled the cheese on the broccoli. A healthier dish and VERY tasty! I think the lemon juice maybe made the cheese a little more melty-like. Either way, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I tried this recipe, it was easy and very delicious and affordable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Thanks for the idea. I used 1/2 c of milk and only 1 tbs butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Easy, and yes, simple and quick. I'm not a fan of cooking in the microwave--nothing against this recipe, as I know it's a great way to cook certain things--I just dislike it. So I did everything except steam the broccoli in the microwave. I melted some butter, tossed it with cheese, broccoli, salt and pepper, then baked covered at 350 for 30 minutes, and it turned out perfectly. It isn't much, true, but that's what I was looking for. I didn't want to use Velveeta since I didn't have any, and I don't have sour cream or anything else to use either. This worked well and we had it for lunch with some baked ziti. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
My mom has made broccoli and cheese this way my whole life. I like it, but I don't love it. It just isn't quite as cheesy. I prefer to make a cheese sauce myself out of cheese, milk and butter for a really good broccoli and cheese. If I'm just throwing together something quick to eat with a weeknight dinner, I cut Velveeta into cubes and toss it in with the broccoli after I've drained it, then put the lid on and put it on the burner on "Warm", stir it up, then serve. Even though the cheese is processed and some people don't like that, I definitely think it's a better way than this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
It's quick and easy and tastes great! I'm new at learning how to cook Broccoli and Cheese so it was good for me! My family loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I gave this four stars because it's just so quick and easy. Definitely not the most decadent broccoli with cheese I've had or even that I've ever made, but it's simplicity means I can whip it up anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I always use Velveeta instead. Shredded Cheddar would not result in a very desirable consistency. No butter, just a little milk or half and half and fresh broccoli. Want your kids to scarf down broccoli without being prodded? Use this recipe - my kids almost begged for it growing up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was okay but would be alot better with a few changes. First, I used microwaved frozen broccoli steamed in the bag. be sure to drain all moisture, even letting it sit on a paper towel for a minute would work. Then follow recipe and add extra cheese until it is to your liking. If you don't drain well, you will end up with a watery mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Delicious! I only used one pat of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States