Quick and Flavorful Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I used one package of FROZEN california blend vegetables. This was okay. Seemed to be a bit on the salty side for us. Two of the flavor boost packets was too much for one package of vegetables. I might make this again but I'd play with the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Definitely quick, but heavy on the flavor... I used a steam in bag of broccoli and used only one flavor packet. While it's nice to enhance the flavor of vegetables you certainly don't want to cover them up completely. Very simple recipe, but keeping in mind that this is concentrated only use enough to taste. I do like the options in the footnotes to add a little variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was my first experience with the Swanson Flavor Boost Concentrated Vegetable Broth. As a flavor enhancer, it works pretty well. For this recipe though, I need to make a couple of comments. First of all, prepare your vegetables the way you usually do (I believe the recipe notes offer another cooking method, along with options for other vegetables and various add-ins). If you steam broccoli, continue to do so. I use a pressure cooker for carrots, because in my opinion, boiling them reduces their flavor. I don't believe I ever boil a fresh vegetable, so the first step of this recipe doesn't work for me. My second comment about this recipe is to sample your vegetables after adding only one packet of the concentrate and tossing well. For us, 1 and 1/2 pounds of carrots only needed one packet of the concentrate, and no other seasoning. I believe that two packets would have overpowered the vegetable flavor. Though heavy on sodium, there is very little fat, so the calorie count is low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I steamed some petite baby carrots in the microwave for 6 minutes. I let them sit a few minutes, drained them, and then added the flavor booster. I am so glad I read the reviews first! I have flavored many foods with broth or stock, but have never tried this condensed broth before. My honest opinion, is the predominant flavor is "salt." I made 1/2 recipe or 8oz of vegetables. I did only 1/2 tsp of flavor booster for 1/2 the recipe instead of the full pack suggested for that amount of carrots. 8 oz of carrots came to close to two cups, so this stuff is strong. I would not add anymore than 1/4 tsp per cup of vegetables. I thought it would glaze the vegetables too, but it didn't. I added about a tsp. of butter with canola oil along with it and the two together elevated plain steamed vegetables. I may use the rest at that ratio, as it is easy. However, for the sake of your vegetables, add it to taste only. More can always be added, if desired. It's more difficult to reverse adding too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I am SO glad that I read the reviews on this before following the recipe exactly...As written, it would've been waaaay to overpowering and salty, just as others have said. I only ended up using a 1/2 packet of vegetable base, and that was pushing it...I didn't care for this at all, but hubby and little guy thought it was ok, so I would've given it a 3 if the directions were accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I used broccoli, cauliflower, and a zucchini close to its expiration date to get 'em out of the fridge. I also roasted my veggies before adding the flavor boost. I have to agree with others - watch how much you add and beware the salt. As a veggie lover, I like the taste of fresh vegetables to shine. Unfortunately, the flavor boost overpowers the dish and tasted a bit too processed for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This rating was given by my hubby because he's the one who ate the carrots I fixed. He would like me to prepare these again for him. I took one carrot and sliced it, lightly boiled it in a small saucepan, drained it, and just barely gave a swipe of the flavor booster over the top of the carrots with a dash of pepper. It was just the right amount of flavor for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
The recipe ingredients call for carrots or green beans, but the directions only mention broccoli. I assume ANY of these 3 vegetables would work (or other vegetables).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This was alright, but far from great. To me it was a little to salty for my taste. I think it would be better if maybe using less of the boost. Willing to give it another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
These weren't my favorite veggies but they are quick and easy for a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States