Quick and Easy Vegetable Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I took the suggestion of another review and added the can of Coconut milk and only about 1 and 1/2 cups of chicken broth. It took on a creamy consistency that was so fragrant and tasted amazing! I didn't think it need much more in spice after the curry powder (on our travels a few years ago I had a Turkish Curry I picked up at a local market and I think it was already a little spicier than a normal curry). I also used all fresh veggies in this order: 1 lg. carrot and 1/4 a head of Cauliflower, 2 fresh tomatoes and some chicken I had already cooked before hand. Those were added to the onion/garlic/curry tomato paste, broth and milk concoction. Let those simmer for about 20-25 min. Then I added nice large chunks of Zucchini, Mushrooms and the bell pepper and let those simmer for 15 min. or more (test to make sure they are not overdone along the way). I will try next time to top it off with the cilantro but didn't have any. I definately recommend something for a crunch . . .cashews were another suggestion I took. The salty sweet and spicy was perfect combo. I will be hanging on to this to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This is a really easy recipe to modify. I add fresh cauliflower, okra and zucchini, as well as potato. It's also really yummy if you throw in a handful of split cashew nuts about 5 mins before you are going to serve it (for extra crunchiness, dry fry them in a pan for a few minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
This was very hearty and had tons of rich flavor! It was also easy and very nutritious! So, essentially, it made an excellent vegetarian meal. I added in a few red and yellow peppers when cooking the onions and garlic, and that worked well, because my frowzen vegetable mix did not contain those. Likewise for some mushrooms, which I threw in with the frozen veggies. Finally, I think that potatoes in the mix would be really great, and I'll be sure to use them next time. There will definitely be a next time, though, because this was a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
THIS WAS DELISH! I didn't have any tomato paste, so i just used a few teaspoons of butter instead (1 and a half, I believe) Also, I added about 2 tsps of powdered ginger as well. I absolutely loved this recipe and will make it again without a doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Exactly as described- quick and easy! I doubled the sauce and used a 15 oz.can of light coconut milk instead of water. I threw in a fresh bag of veggies and some baked tofu- excellent w/jasmine rice! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This was a strange receipe. I really didn't care for it. It reminded me of a tomato receipe which isn't what I wanted to curry. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This was amazing! It had such a rich flavor, and was so filling. Like others suggested, I added potatoes and pecans, which made it much better. I made this for my parents and my dad, who is a very picky eater, couldn't stop raving about it and went back for thirds! I'm definitely going to make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
It seriously tasted like vegetable soup on top of rice...even added extra curry and spices and still didn't help. Not worth wasting half an hour of cooking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Was very disappointed. The only flavor that stood out was the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States